A Cappella Choir Celebrates the Protestant Reformation

Sept. 14, 2017

The 50-voice Baylor University A Cappella Choir will perform a Reformation 500 Concert, in observance of the five-hundredth anniversary of the Protestant Reformation in Germany. This event, entitled “Soli Deo Gloria: The Five Solas of the Reformation,” will be presented on Thursday, September 28, beginning at 7:30 p.m. in Jones Concert Hall, located within the Glennis McCrary Music Building. Initiated by Martin Luther, the Reformation had a profound impact not only on the church, but also on science, trade, politics, culture, and music.

The A Cappella Choir will be conducted by Baylor’s Associate Professor of Choral Music Brian A. Schmidt. Assisting them will be a trombone quartet with Collin Napper, Nick Halbig, Eric Sweet, and Andrew Moser, as well as pianist Serenity Fung.

The program will open with Alexander L’Estrange’s “Oculi Omnium,” Charles Wood’s “O Lord, Rebuke Me Not,” and William Walton’s “Jubilate Deo.”

Then the ensemble will sing three choral arrangements: Mark Butler’s “Witness,” Moses Hogan’s “This Little Light of Mine,” and Marques Garrett’s “Hold On!”

Also to be heard are “The Fruit of Silence” by PÄ"teris Vasks, the Will Todd setting of “Amazing Grace,” and Jonathan Dove’s “Come, You Who Are Blessed.”

Next, the A Cappella Choir will perform “Hosanna to the Son of David” by Thomas Weelkes and “The Deer’s Cry” by Arvo Pärt.

Closing the program will be “Glory to God in the Highest” by Felix Mendelssohn and “So I’ll Sing with My Voice from Dominick Argento’s set of Spirituals and Swedish Chorales.

This concert is free of charge and open to the public. For more information, call the Baylor University School of Music at 254-710-3991.