Semper Pro Musica Competition



2022 Winners


  • Sylvia Jones – soprano
  • Cezary Karwowski – piano
  • Max Winningham – double bass

Chamber Ensemble:

  • Fest Quartet (Darren Carter, violin; Elise Maas, violin; Freyn Downey, viola; Samuel Day, cello)


  • Chase Douthit

The solo and chamber competition winners will perform at 8:00 p.m. on Thursday, May 26, in Carnegie Hall’s Weill Recital Hall, an elegant and intimate performance venue where many young musicians make their New York debuts. Chase Douthit will perform at 8:00 p.m. on Wednesday, May 25, sharing the concert with Dr. Isabelle Demers at The Brick Presbyterian Church (click here for a video of the performance).

2019 Winners

Semper Pro Musica 2019 Winners

Soloists (alphabetical by last name):

  • Josh Blessing, marimba
  • John-Micah Braswell, piano
  • Javier Castro, flute
  • Megan Gackle, mezzo-soprano
  • Nathan Little, trumpet
  • Matthew Newhouse, tenor

Chamber Ensembles (alphabetical by ensemble name):

  • Eighth Position (Nick Halbig, Connor Wooley, Dawson Ward, Adele Fuqua, Nathan Taylor, Derek Moseley, Nathan Stanfield, Jonathan Passmore)
  • Flute Fleet (Javier Castro, Felicity Fulton, Jessica Peacock, Caleb Estrada Valentín)

Connect With Us

Follow the School of Music on social media & join the conversation.