Semper Pro Musica Competition Winners

The Semper Pro Musica Solo and Chamber Music Competition is held annually in the School of Music at Baylor University. In September of 2015, during his first semester as dean, Gary Mortenson developed the conceptual framework for Semper Pro Musica. The goal of the competitions is to identify the top talent in the school through two rounds of competition and to present a winners’ recital at a significant external venue to the school. Approximately 60 students participated in the 2015-16 competition. On Thursday, May 26, 2016 the solo and chamber winners were presented in recital at Highland Park United Methodist Church in Dallas, Texas. More than 90 students participated in the First Round of the 2016-17 competition. The Final Round was held on February 12, 2017. The judges for the 2017 finals included Bradley Moore (Music Director for the Houston Grand Opera Studio), John Owings (Professor and Division Chair of Piano at Texas Christian University), and Mary Ellen Poole (Director - School of Music, University of Texas). The winners who advanced through the Final Round were presented in recital at Weill Recital Hall in the Carnegie Hall complex on Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 8:00 pm.

2017 Solo Competition Winners

Semper Pro Winners 2017_GomezRicardo Gómez, violin

Semper Pro Winners 2017_KimYera Kim, piano

Semper Pro Winners 2017_KloppCasey Klopp, mezzo-soprano; Stephen Morris, piano accompanist

Semper Pro Winners 2017_MedinaDavid Medina, percussion

Semper Pro Winners 2017_SosnowskiSpencer Sosnowski, saxophone; Dr. Cameron Hofmann, piano accompanist

2017 Chamber Competition Winners

Semper Pro Winners 2017_Britten TrioZachary Barba, tenor; Stephen Buly, horn; Sara Steele, piano

Semper Pro Winners 2017_MorphemeMorpheme Saxophone Quartet: Spencer Sosnowski, soprano saxophone; Patrick Lenz, alto saxophone; Mollie McInnis, tenor saxophone; Mitchell Brackett, baritone saxophone

Semper Pro Winners 2017_UrsinoUrsino String Quartet: Ricardo Gómez, violin; Molly Hines, violin; Joshua Thaver, viola; William Danheim, cello