Mus. Ed. Alumni Award

The Baylor University Music Education Association, in conjunction with the Baylor School of Music, has created this annual award to be given to distinguished music education alumni who are making a difference teaching in their field. It is our way of honoring an outstanding music educator with a Baylor connection while strengthening the connection between Baylor's past and present.


To be considered for this award, educators must be currently teaching in the field of music and have at least three years of experience in music education. They must be Baylor alumni and be nominated by someone, other than a spouse or family member, who has witnessed their excellence as a teacher, motivator, and accomplished educator.


Nominations for this award will be taken until November 1st of each year. To submit a nomination, fill out the form found on this webpage and provide a one-page description of why your nominee should be chosen to receive this award. The recipient will be selected by a committee of Baylor Music faculty and students.


The award will be presented at the Baylor University Alumni Reception at the 2010 TMEA Convention. The recipient will receive a plaque and a $200 gift certificate from Southern Music Company. Another plaque will be placed in the Baylor School of Music permanently in their honor. The recipient will also be invited to speak at the first Baylor Music Education Convocation of the following fall semester.

This award is sponsored by Baylor University School of Music, Baylor University Music Education Association, and Southern Music Company.

Past Outstanding Music Education Alumni Award Honorees:

Florence Scattergood 2009 Florence Scattergood - Waco, TX

Matt Stott 2010 Matt Stott - Vero Beach, FL

Brent Gault 2011 Dr. Brent Gault - Indiana University School of Music