This past weekend, November 14-16, 2013, the Baylor Model Organization of American States (MOAS) team hosted 160 delegates from universities in Texas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Mexico. Students represented member states from the Organization of American States covering the hemisphere and presented and defended resolutions that covered issues as diverse as childhood obesity, cyber security, and responsible extraction of natural resources. Baylor University provided delegations representing two states: Argentina, directed by Head Delegate Lauren Lee (junior, University Scholar from Olathe, Kansas) and Co-Head Delegate Brian Ham (senior, International Studies from O’Fallon, Illinois); and and Peru, directed by Head Delegate Pia Lawrence (junior, International Business and Finance major from Kennett, Missouri) and Sandy Guillen (senior, Political Science major from Houston). Ewan Hamilton-Short (junior,Business Fellow from Waco) served as president for the Model while Cristina Mendez, (senior, University Scholar from Brownsville) presided as Secretary General. In this year’s model, Will Gregory (senior, University Scholar from Kerrville) and Sarah Byers (sophomore, Political Science major from Waco) were Chair and Rapporteur, respectively, for the Secretariat for Multilateral Security (SMS) while Ewan Hamilton-Short and Bonnie Cantwell (junior, Philosophy/History major from Katy) served as Chair and Rapporteur, respectively, for the General Committee (GC). Other committees at the competition included the Secretariat for Political Affairs (SPA), the Executive Secretariat for Integral Development (ESID) and the Secretariat for Administration and Finance (SPA).

Both Baylor teams were recognized for their performance in their written work as well as their negotiating skills:

The Argentine team won the following awards: Outstanding Team Position Paper, Outstanding Resolution in the GC (Lauren Lee), Distinguished Resolution in ESID (Kelsey Shelton, junior, International Studies/Anthropology major from Enfield, Connecticut), Outstanding Budgetary Statement and Distinguished Delegate in SAF (Bobby Grover, senior, Environmental Studies/Political Science major from Chappaqua, New York), Distinguished Delegate in SPA (Rustin Bridges, History major from Longview, Texas), and Distinguished Delegate and Distinguished Resolution in ESID (Alex Pecoraro, senior, History major from Prosper). Other team members included: Rob Bradfield, (senior, Journalism major from Waco) and Micah-Leah Woolley (senior, History major from Waco).

The Peruvian Team took the following honors: Outstanding Delegate and Distinguished Resolution in SMS (Priscilla Escobedo, senior International Studies major from Irving), Outstanding Delegate and Outstanding Resolution in ESID (Clay Satterfield, senior,History major from Denton), and Outstanding Delegate and Distinguished Budgetary Statement in SAF (Sandy Guillen). Other team members included: Richard Horace (senior, Political Science major from Beaumont), Jillian Anderson (senior, Journalism major from Houston) and Mucia Flores (freshman, Great Texts major from Laredo)

The SMS committee led by Will Gregory and Sarah Byers was recognized by the judges as Best Committee for Debate.

In the officer elections for the 2015 model, Pia Lawrence won the presidency and Lauren Lee won as Secretary General.

The teams were coached by Dr. Joan Supplee, the Ralph L. and Bessie Mae Lynn Chair in History and assisted by Paul Putz (graduate student in History) and Baylor alumni Drew Vincent and Diane Draper.