Baylor's Delta Epsilon Iota Chapter Receives National Recognition

July 28, 2011

Baylor University's Delta Epsilon Iota chapter has received the 2010-2011 Chapter of the Year Award for its excellence in maintaining national standards in promoting principles of dedication, enthusiasm and initiative in all areas of campus life.

Members of Delta Epsilon Iota Academic Honor Society work with Baylor's Career Services to educate students about their post-college options and also work to build relationships with members in their future careers, according to the Baylor DEI website.

Initiation into the honor society requires potential members to have at least a 3.30 GPA on a 4.0 scale as well as 30 completed hours.

Each year, several of the chapter's 650-plus members are awarded scholarships. This year, six members were awarded scholarships for the 2011-2012 school year: Austin Lebeda, senior psychology major; Liz Black, senior Russian and international studies double major; Kelly Higginbotham, senior accounting major; Sha Feggett, junior, pre-medical, health and science studies major; and Emilie Moore, senior international studies major..

Lindsey Johnson, a senior communication sciences and disorders and speech pathology double major, received the highest honor conferred to members, the Delta Honors Award, for achievement and dedication to the organization's principles.

"I feel very honored to be a recipient of the Delta Honors Award," said Johnson. "I am very appreciative for this scholarship and the professors who wrote my recommendation letters. DEI is a great organization, and to be selected as a recipient of one of their awards is very special to me."

For more information on Baylor's Delta Epsilon Iota chapter, click here.

by Emilly Martinez, student newswriter, (254) 710-6805

Looking for more news from Baylor University?