Baylor University to Hold Spring Commencement Ceremonies May 13-14

May 9, 2011

Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMediaCom

Baylor University will confer degrees upon approximately 2,000 graduates during spring commencement exercises Friday and Saturday, May 13-14, on the Baylor campus.

Friday's ceremony will be held at 2:30 p.m. in the Ferrell Center for graduates of the School of Engineering and Computer Science, Louise Herrington School of Nursing, College of Arts and Sciences and the Graduate School.

Two ceremonies will be held on Saturday in the Ferrell Center: 9:30 a.m. for graduates of the School of Social Work, School of Music, Honors College, College of Arts and Sciences and the Graduate School, and 2:30 p.m. for graduates of the Hankamer School of Business, School of Education and the Graduate School.

Baylor will provide live streaming of all three ceremonies, so families and friends of graduates who are unable to travel to Waco can watch their graduate receive their diploma. Links to the live stream will be available 10 minutes prior to the start of each ceremony at:

Baylor President Ken Starr will preside over the commencement ceremonies. Dr. John Reimers, a member of the Baylor Board of Regents, will bring greetings at the Friday ceremony, while Regents Harold Cunningham and The Rev. Ramiro Peña will bring greetings at the Saturday morning and afternoon ceremonies respectively.

Bearer of the Mace honors will go to three Baylor faculty members: Dr. Thomas T. Goforth, professor emeritus of geology; Dr. Colbert C. Held, professor and diplomat in residence; and Dovalee Dorsett, professor emeritus of statistics and quantitative business analysis.

In addition to the conferral of degrees upon students, the ceremonies will honor Outstanding Professors for 2010-2011:

• Teaching: Dr. Michael P. Foley, associate professor of patristics and Great Texts program; Dr. Janya H. Martin, associate professor of German; Dr. Todd Meehan, associate professor of percussion; and Susan Etheredge, lecturer in finance and managing director of Southwest Securities Financial Markets Center.

• Scholarship: Dr. Erich J. Baker, associate professor of bioinformatics; Dr. Diana Garland, professor and dean of the School of Social Work; Dr. Jonathan L. Kvanvig, Distinguished Professor of Philosophy; and Bridget Fuselier, associate professor of law.

• Contributions to the Academic Community: Allison R. Yanos, assistant and catalog librarian.

Also recognized will be the Collins Outstanding Professor for 2010-2011, Dr. Marcie Moehnke, lecturer of genetics, who was selected by the senior class as this year's recipient.

Baylor's summer commencement is scheduled for Saturday, Aug. 13. Winter commencement will be held Saturday, Dec. 17, at the Ferrell Center.

For more information, visit

by Susie Typher, student newswriter, (254) 710-6805

Looking for more news from Baylor University?