Judge Starr Appointed to BCM Board of Trustees

Feb. 10, 2011

Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMediaCom

Baylor University President Ken Starr and four others have been named to the Baylor College of Medicine Board of Trustees, Chair Marc J. Shapiro announced this week.

In addition to Starr, the new trustees are Robert L. Brewton, Sally Anderson Clark, Milane Duncan-Frantz and Gerald W. Haddock. Brewton, Clark and Haddock are all Baylor graduates.

Starr served as dean of law at Pepperdine University before becoming Baylor University's president in June 2010. He has served as Solicitor General of the United States, as a U.S. Circuit Judge for the District of Columbia, and in several academic roles.

Brewton is a 1971 BBA Baylor graduate. He is the president of Brewton Investment Corp., a capital investment firm located in Houston.

Clark is a 1970 BBA Baylor graduate. Clark is involved with numerous organizations in the Houston area, including Covenant House, Ronald McDonald House and Zoo Friends of Houston.

Duncan-Frantz is vice president of Enterprise Products. She is involved in a several community organizations and helped create the Duncan Family Foundation.

Haddock is a 1971 BBA and JD Baylor graduate. He is the president of Haddock Investments, which centers on real estate investing and development as well as alternative asset investment.

Founded in 1900 as the University of Dallas Medical Department, the school formed an alliance with Baylor University and changed its name to the Baylor College of Medicine in 1903. The College moved to Houston 1943.

U.S.News & World Report ranked BCM as one of the top 25 medical schools for research this year.

For more information, please contact Lori Williams, BCM's executive director for public affairs, at 713-798-4710 or loriw@bcm.tmc.edu.

by Susie Typher, student newswriter, (254) 710-6805

Looking for more news from Baylor University?