Baylor Announces Formation of Strategic Themes Committee

Feb. 3, 2011

Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMediaCom

As part of its ongoing strategic planning process, Baylor University has announced the formation of a Strategic Themes Committee. Dr. Elizabeth Davis, executive vice president and provost at Baylor, convened the first meeting of the committee on Jan. 25 and gave them their charge.

The committee will be responsible for carefully studying all input received from groups and individuals during the Community Input period of the strategic planning exercise, which began with the launch of the strategic planning website and runs through April 2011. The committee will write a report that identifies recurring themes and stakeholder priorities reflected in the input. They will deliver that report to President Ken Starr and the university's Executive Council in June 2011.

Members of the Strategic Themes Committee were selected for their ability to listen to and comprehend the ideas of others and to describe those ideas in a manner that retains the original intent of the participant. Moreover, when presented with multiple perspectives on an issue, the Strategic Themes Committee members will be able to identify and communicate common themes and priorities without substituting their own preferences into the report.

"The members of this committee are thoughtful individuals who understand what we are seeking to accomplish in this process as we carefully consider all the good input that we are receiving from our various constituencies during this phase of our strategic planning exercise. Because they represent a wide variety of units across the university, we can be assured of a range of insights as the committee undertakes its work. I am delighted that they have agreed to serve the university in this capacity," Davis said.

The members of the Strategic Themes Committee are:

    Mitchell Neubert, Chairperson, Hankamer School of Business
    Andy Arterbury, George W. Truett Seminary
    Claudia Beal, Louise Herrington School of Nursing
    Susan Bratton, College of Arts and Sciences
    Burt Burleson, Student Life
    Phil Donnelly, Honors College
    Ron English, Enrollment Management
    Richard Gerik, University Libraries
    Leah Jackson, School of Law
    Karen Kemp, Marketing and Communication
    Rosalind Kennerson-Baty, College of Arts and Sciences
    Carson Mencken, College of Arts and Sciences
    Byron Newberry, Engineering and Computer Science
    Patricia Pack, Mayborn Museum
    Mikeal Parsons, College of Arts and Sciences
    Diana Ramey, Enrollment Management
    Rob Rogers, School of Social Work
    Martha Lou Scott, Student Life
    Kathy Steely, School of Music
    Tony Talbert, School of Education
    Ashley Thornton, Institutional Effectiveness
    Tricia Tolbert, Institutional Effectiveness
    Jeff Wallace, Finance and Administration

Media contact: Lori Fogleman, director of media communications, (254) 710-6275

Looking for more news from Baylor University?