Baylor University Continues Tradition Of Excellence At Model Organization Of American States In San Antonio

News Photo 4981
Baylor University's 2010 Model Organization of American States Team
Nov. 10, 2010

Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMediaCom

Baylor University's Model Organization of American States (MOAS) team has once again taken top honors in the MOAS simulation held Nov. 4-6 at St. Mary's University in San Antonio.

Representing the countries of Brazil and Costa Rica, Baylor students won the awards for Outstanding Delegation and Distinguished Delegation.

Brazil's Head Delegate, Daniella Romero, a senior international studies major from Spring, took the top award for Outstanding Ambassador. Michael Lyssy, a junior international studies major from Fall City, served as president of the model and also received the Outstanding Chair Award. In addition, Lyssy was chosen to serve as parliamentarian for next year's model.

Other awards won by Baylor students from the Costa Rica team included Distinguished Delegates in both the Inter-American Commission for Human Rights represented by Rob Bradfield, junior theater arts major from Waco, and the Secretariat for Multi-Dimensional Security represented by Elizabeth Sanford, a senior, international studies major from Sachse, and Melissa Olshack, a senior history/French major from San Antonio.

Brittney Quezada, a junior honors /political science major from Sugarland, served as the chair of the Executive Secretariat of Integral Development. Other members of the Brazilian Delegation included: Cody Brasher, a sophomore psychology/international studies major from Moody, Ala.; Bianca Kane, a junior international studies major from Geneva, Ill.; Torie Rhodes, Co-Head Delegate and a senior international studies major from Pasadena, Calif.; Drew Vincent, a junior international studies major from Mabelton, Ga.; Jenna Thompson, a senior journalism/international studies major from Indianapolis; Lathan Andrews, a junior history major from Clifton; and Henry Clay Johnson, a senior history major from San Antonio.

Other members of the Costa Rican Delegation included Head Delegate Catherine Gibson, a junior Latin American studies major from Bedford; Carlos Rodarte, a freshman international studies/political science major from Houston; Emily Erickstad, a senior economics/public administration/Spanish major from Longview; James Rhodes, a freshman business major from Pasadena; and Chris Mahfouz, a senior University Scholar from Port Neches.

In addition to the competition, students were able to meet four Ambassadors: Gene Scassa, Ambassador-in-Residence at St. Mary's University; Dr. James Creagan, former U.S. Ambassador to Honduras who serves as director of international studies at the University of the Incarnate Word; keynote speaker Donna Hrinack, former U.S. ambassador to Brazil, Venezuela, Bolivia and the Dominican Republic who serves as senior director of Latin America government affairs at PepsiCo Inc.; and Kenneth Tillett, former U.N. Ambassador for Belize who serves as professor of political science at Southwestern Oklahoma State University.

Dr. Joan E. Supplee, The Ralph L. and Bessie Mae Lynn Chair in History within Baylor's College of Arts and Sciences, serves as the team's faculty adviser.

Other judges included Professor Janet E. Adamski from the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor and Gwen Creagan.

The Model Organization of American States (MOAS) is an extracurricular activity in the fall semester and a three-credit academic course in the spring semester. By participating in MOAS, students develop international public policies on issues affecting the Americas and apply theory learned in the classroom. They learn parliamentary procedures for debate, caucusing, how to function in working groups of countries that share common interests, and the operation of the committees that report to the General Assembly. They also learn how the Organization of American States (OAS) operates and the key economic, social, educational, political and security issues facing the Americas.

The purpose of the MOAS is to strengthen and accelerate the diffusion of knowledge about the OAS and its functions among the public. It has drawn student participation from a wide array of North American, Central American and South American universities.

For more information, please contact: Catherine Gibson, Head Delegate, Costa Rica at, Daniella Romero, Head Delegate, Brazil at or Dr. Joan Supplee at

Media contact: Lori Fogleman, director of media communications, (254) 710-6275

Looking for more news from Baylor University?