Baylor University to Hold Spring Commencement

May 12, 2010

Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMedia

Baylor University will confer degrees upon approximately 2,000 graduates during spring commencement exercises Friday and Saturday on the Baylor campus.

Friday's ceremony will be held at 2:30 p.m. in the Ferrell Center for graduates of the School of Engineering and Computer Science, Louise Herrington School of Nursing, College of Arts and Sciences and the Graduate School.

Two ceremonies will be held on Saturday in the Ferrell Center: 9:30 a.m. for graduates of the School of Social Work, School of Music, College of Arts and Sciences and the Graduate School, and 2:30 p.m. for graduates of the Hankamer School of Business, School of Education and the Graduate School.

Baylor will provide live streaming of all three ceremonies, so families and friends of graduates who are unable to travel to Waco can watch their graduate receive their diploma. Links to the live stream will be available 15 minutes prior to the start of each ceremony at:

Dr. David Garland, Baylor's Interim President and dean of Baylor's George W. Truett Theological Seminary, will preside over the commencement ceremonies. R. Dary Stone, JD '77, chairman of the Baylor Board of Regents, will bring greetings at the Friday ceremony. John C. Reimers, BA '72, DDS '75, member of the Baylor Board of Regents, will bring greetings at the Saturday morning ceremony, and Ramiro A. Peña, BA '88, member of the Baylor Board of Regents, will bring greetings at the Saturday afternoon ceremony.

Bearer of the Mace honors will go to three retired Baylor faculty members: Dr. Tillman B. Rodabough, professor emeritus of sociology; Dr. Richard B. Riley, professor emeritus of political science; and Dr. Anita S. Baker, associate professor of curriculum and instruction.

In addition to the conferral of degrees upon students, the ceremonies will honor Outstanding Professors for 2009-2010:

� Teaching: Kevin D. Dougherty, associate professor of sociology; Linda M. McManness, associate professor of Spanish; P. Alex Parker, lecturer in jazz studies; Wiff Rudd, professor of trumpet; and Kenneth W. Van Treuren, professor of mechanical engineering.

� Scholarship: Lucy M. Barnard-Brak, assistant professor of educational psychology; Ian A. Gravagne, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering; Thomas S. Kidd, associate professor of history; and David W. Music, professor of church music.

� Contributions to the Academic Community: Lori A. Spies, lecturer in nursing.

Also recognized will be the Collins Outstanding Professor for 2009-2010, Dr. William D. Hillis, The Cornelia Marschall Smith Distinguished Professor of Biology at Baylor, who was selected by the senior class as this year's recipient.

Baylor's summer commencement is scheduled for Saturday, Aug. 14. Winter commencement will be held Saturday, Dec. 18.

For more information about Baylor commencement, go to spring commencement exercises.

by Lillyan Baker, student newswriter, (254) 710-6805

Looking for more news from Baylor University?