Religion Professors Win Two Awards

April 28, 2004

by Julie Campbell Carlson

Dr. William Brackney, professor of religion and director of the Program in Baptist Studies at Baylor University, and Dr. Dan McGee, professor of religion, each have won awards for their scholarship on Baptist heritage.

Brackney has been named as the 2004 recipient of the Norman W. Cox Award. The Cox Award is presented annually by the Baptist History and Heritage Society to the writer judged to have written the best article published in Baptist History and Heritage in the preceding calendar year. Brackney's award-winning article, "The Frontier of Free Exchange of Ideas: The Baptist Congress as a Forum for Baptist Concerns, 1888-1913," was published in the Summer/Fall 2003 issue of the journal.

The Cox Award is named in honor of Norman W. Cox, the first executive secretary-treasurer of the Historical Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention. The purpose of the award is to encourage the writing of high-quality articles in Baptist history.

McGee received the Richard Furman Baptist Heritage Award from Furman University. First given in 2000, the award recognizes a Furman graduate who reflects Baptist ideals by "thinking critically, living compassionately and making life-changing commitments."

After graduating from Furman with a bachelor's degree in English literature, McGee received the bachelor of divinity and master of theology degrees at Southeastern Seminary and earned a doctoral degree in theological ethics at Duke University. His research and writing have focused on the implications of Christian ethics for practical, familial, institutional and professional life. He is the author of more than 60 articles and book chapters and has taught at Baylor since 1966.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?