Baylor Law Beats Blizzard - Wins National Moot Court Contest

Feb. 24, 2003

by Alan Hunt

Facing competition from nearly 40 teams representing law schools across the country, plus the effects of the east coast blizzard, Baylor Law School's moot court team won the National First Amendment Moot Court Competition held in Washington, D.C. This is a repeat performance for Baylor, which also placed first in the contest last year.

The record-breaking blizzard forced the cancellation of the final day of the competition last weekend, just as Baylor's two teams were undefeated in the oral argument rounds of the contest. But on Thursday, Feb. 20, one of the Baylor teams was declared the National Champion, based on the combined brief and oral argument scoring for the rounds that were completed, said team coach and law professor Brian Serr.

Representing Baylor on the winning team were Jason Bernhardt, Rachel Davis and Somer George. George also won the Best Advocate Award in the completed rounds. Also competing for Baylor were Wes Lotz, Robert White and Jennifer Willingham. The contest is judged every year by lawyers, judges and law professors from the nation's capital.

Serr said that in the last few years of this highly competitive national competition, Baylor has finished third, second, first and third, and first. Last year's national championship team was Paige Ingram and Jeff Taylor; last year's third-place team was Janese Dudash and Perry Robinson.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?