Dean's Honor Concert To Be Held At Baylor Feb. 22

Feb. 20, 2003

by Richard Veit

Eight students from the Baylor University School of Music will perform at the 2003 Dean's Honor Concert at 7:30 p.m Saturday, Feb. 22, in Jones Concert Hall.

Soprano Clare Mortimer, a senior vocal performance major from San Antonio, will open the program with the aria "Ah! Non credea mirarti...Ah, non giunge" from Vincenzo Bellini's opera La Sonnambula.

Stephen Aaron, a junior from Kingwood, will the play the opening movement from Russian composer Reinhold Glière's Horn Concert in B-flat major.

Waco native Cara Beth Martin, junior violin performance major, will play the Sonata for Solo Violin No. 3 by the great Belgian violinist/composer Eugène Ysaÿe.

Britton Matthews, a sophomore percussion major from Dallas, will play the Rhythmic Caprice of Leigh Howard Stevens.

Flutist Howard Jeffery will present two movements from Jacques Ibert's Flute Concerto. He is a junior pre-med/flute performance major from Houston.

Cellist Jennifer Jernigan is a junior music education major from Sugar Land, and will perform the Élegie of Gabriel Fauré.

Bass Matthew Treviño, a graduate student, will sing the aria "Non più andrai" from Mozart's opera The Marriage of Figaro.

Concluding the concert will be pianist Desirée Pagana, a graduate student from Italy, who will play the "Dante" Sonata of Franz Liszt.

The Dean's Honor Concert is presented free and open to the public. For more information, call the Baylor School of Music at 710-3991.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?