Outstanding Students Selected To Perform At Dean's Honor Concert

March 25, 2004

by Richard Veit

Twelve of the most talented students in Baylor University's School of Music have been selected by the music faculty to perform at the 2004 Dean's Honor Concert at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, March 27, in Jones Concert Hall.

Violinist Jonathan Hager will open the program with the Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso of Camille Saint-Saëns, followed by soprano Natasha Ospina, who will perform "No word from Tom... I go to him" from Igor Stravinsky's opera The Rake's Progress.

Trumpeter Kyle Koronka will play Vincent Persichetti's setting for trumpet and organ of the T.S. Eliot poem The Hollow Men. Pianist John Wilson will follow with two pieces from Sergei Rachmaninoff's Moments Musicaux. Percussionist Grant Hackethorn will close the first half of the concert with Prism, a marimba work by Japanese composer Keiko Abe.

After intermission, organist Joanna Li will play Tanz Toccata by Anton Heiller, followed by mezzo-soprano Abigail Coy, who will sing "Die Mainacht" by Johannes Brahms and "Johnny" from Benjamin Britten's cycle Cabaret Songs.

The concert will conclude with the first movement ("Allegro ben moderato") from Danish composer Carl Nielsen's Woodwind Quintet, as performed by flutist Alyssa Bailey, oboist Geoffrey Johnson, clarinetist Beverly Anderson, bassoonist Corey Fleeman and hornist Stephen Aaron.

The Dean's Honor Concert is free and open to the public. For more information, call the Baylor School of Music at 710-3991.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?