Award-Winning Chemist Lectures on Energy, Hydrogen Formation

Jan. 15, 2010

Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMediaCom

Baylor University's department of chemistry and biochemistry will host Dr. Nathan S. Lewis, The George L. Argyros Professor of Chemistry at The California Institute of Technology (Caltech), as the lecturer for the annual Gooch-Stephens Lectures Series Jan. 21-22. All lectures are free and open to the public and will take place in room B.110 of the Baylor Sciences Building (BSB) on the Baylor campus.

On Thursday, Jan. 21, Lewis will discuss the topic "Where in the World Will Our Energy Come From?" at 5 p.m.

Lewis's second lecture will be on "Sunlight-Driven Hydrogen Formation by Membrane-Supported Photoelectrochemical Water Splitting" at 4 p.m. Friday, Jan. 22.

Lewis received his doctorate in chemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). In 1988, he joined the faculty at Caltech and has served as the principal investigator of the Beckham Institute Molecular Materials Resource Center since 1992.

Lewis has been honored as an accomplished researcher with many awards, including being named an Alfred P. Sloan Fellow, a Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar and a Presidential Young Investigator. He received the ACS Award in Pure Chemistry in 1991, the Princeton Environmental Award in 2003 and the Michael Faraday Medal of Royal Society of Electrochemistry in 2008.

The Gooch-Stephens Lecture Series was established as an annual event in recognition of the contributions of two Baylor chemistry professors and former department chairmen, Dr. W.T. Gooch and Dr. W.R. Stephens.

Refreshments will be served prior to each lecture in the BSB atrium.

For more information, contact the department of chemistry and biochemistry at (254) 710-3311.

by Lillyan Baker, student newswriter, (254) 710-6805

Looking for more news from Baylor University?