Hankamer School of Business Honors Texas Family Businesses

Nov. 5, 2009

Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMediaCom

Baylor University's Institute for Family Business will host the 20th annual Texas Family Business of the Year Awards Banquet, which will honor 20 Texas businesses that display values that honor the business itself, the community and the family.

The banquet will start at 6 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 5, in the Barfield Drawing Room on the second floor of the Bill Daniel Student Center.

The institute recognizes family-run businesses for their dedication and hard work.

"In a family business, work problems don't remain at the workplace. They are brought home every day," said Dawn Maitz, associate director of the Institute for Family Business. "In a typical business failure or sale, the parties can go their separate ways and never see each other again if that's their desire. That's not the case with a family business."

Many have overcome hardship and adversity in order to keep their business successful and family relationships intact, said David Allen, director of the John F. Baugh Center for Entrepreneurship at Baylor.

The keynote speaker will be Wes Bailey, president of Bailey Insurance and Risk Management Inc., of Waco.

Winners were chosen in three categories: large, consisting of more than 151 employees; medium, 51 to 150 employees; and small, 50 or fewer employees. Outstanding firms are also honored in the special categories of Family Values Award, Community Commitment Award, Fastest-Growing Family Business Award, Well-Managed Family Business Award, Founders Award and Heritage Award.

This year's winners are:

Small Family Business of the Year:

Gohlke Pools of Denton

Wardlaw Claims Service of Waco

Medium Family Business of the Year:

Parsons Roofing of Waco

Large Family Business of the Year:

United Supermarkets of Lubbock

Community Commitment Award:

Texas Barber Colleges and Hairstyling Schools of Houston

Family Values Award:

Johnston Legal Group of Fort Worth

Fastest Growing Award:

Spec's Family Partners of Houston

Well-Managed Award:

Richard Karr Motors of Waco

Founders Award:

Louis Shanks of Texas of Austin

Heritage Award:

Read's Food Store of Mart

Hurricane Survivor Award:

Ocean Oso's of Galveston

Finalists: Armstrong Mechanical, Lubbock; Belltec Industries, Belton; Celebrating Home, Marshall; Chaney Enterprises, Arlington; Home State Insurance Group, Waco; KiDSPACE, Amarillo; Public Steel, Amarillo; Ranch at the Rim, San Antonio; and Sonny Bryan's Smokehouse, Dallas.

For more information, call Dawn Maitz at (254) 710-4159 or click here.

by Colton Wright, student newswriter, (254) 710-6805

Looking for more news from Baylor University?