Distinguished Artists Series Presents Imani Winds Jan. 27

Jan. 7, 2004

by Richard Veit

Baylor University's Distinguished Artist Series will resume Tuesday, Jan. 27, with the much-acclaimed woodwind quintet, Imani Winds, performing at 7:30 p.m. in Roxy Grove Hall.

Members of Imani Winds are flutist Valerie Coleman, oboist Toyin Spellman, clarinetist Mariam Adam, hornist Jeff Scott and bassoonist Monica Ellis. The five innovative musicians joined forces in 1996 to expand the boundaries of the traditional wind quintet, exploring the links between European, African and American music traditions. Their name, Imani -- literally "faith" in Swahili -- embodies the group's mission: to engage and inspire audiences of diverse cultural backgrounds. Honored as Concert Artists Guild Competition winners in 1999, the group is serving as Artists-in-Residence at the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center.

Imani Winds will open their Baylor concert with Alexander Zemlinsky's Humoreske, John Cage's Music for Wind Instruments, Ulysses Kay's divertimento Five Winds and the Fred Sturm arrangement of James P. Johnson's Carolina Shout.

Following intermission, the group will play hornist Scott's arrangement of Fuga y Misterio by tango composer Astor Piazzolla, flutist Coleman's arrangement of the traditional spiritual Steal Away and the Wind Quintet No. 2 of contemporary composer Miguel del Aguila.

Tickets for the Distinguished Artist Series concert are $15, with students, senior citizens and Baylor faculty and staff admitted for $10. For more information, call the Baylor School of Music at 710-3991.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?