National Steering Committee List - Baylor University Proposal For The George W. Bush Presidential Library

Nov. 26, 2003




Baylor University today introduced the national steering committee for its proposed George W. Bush Presidential Library Center. The committee's primary objectives are to oversee the university's formal Presidential Library planning committee and to direct fundraising efforts for the library. The committee is composed of prominent individuals who have close ties to Baylor and the Bush administration.


Mr. Drayton McLane

Chairman, Houston Astros Baseball Club and McLane Group, LP

Temple, Texas


Mr. Joe Allbritton

Chair of the Executive Committee, Allbritton Communications

Vice Chairman, Riggs National Corporation

Washington, D.C.

Mrs. Barby Allbritton

Executive Vice President and Director, Allbritton Communications

Washington, D.C.

Mr. Joe B. Allen

Partner, Allen Boone Humphries LLP

Houston, Texas

Mr. Gaylord Armstrong

Senior Partner, McGinnis, Lochridge & Kilgore, LLP

Austin, Texas

The Honorable Kip Averitt

State Senator

Waco, Texas

Mr. Bill Bailey

Chairman, Bailey Insurance & Financial Services

Waco, Texas

Mr. Bob Beaudine

President and CEO, Eastman & Beaudine, Incorporated

Plano, Texas

Mr. Tom Bond

Partner, Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld, LLP

Austin, Texas

Mr. Bob Brewton

President and CEO, Brewton Investment Corporation

Houston, Texas

Mr. Spencer Brown

Chairman, Extraco Banks

Waco, Texas

Mrs. Spencer Brown

Civic leader

Waco, Texas

Mr. Robert Burns

President, Robert Burns Financial Group

Mayor of Midland, 1994-2001

Midland, Texas

Mr. Lance R. Byrd

President and CEO, Sendero Energy, Incorporated

Dallas, Texas

Ms. Jane Cook

Former White House Deputy Director of Internet News Services

Alexandria, Virginia

Mr. Harold Cunningham

Regent and Retired Chief Financial Officer, Baylor University

Waco, Texas

Mr. Will Davis

Partner, Heath, Davis & McCalla, PC

Austin, Texas

Ms. Nancy Dorn

Former Assistant to the Vice President for Legislative Affairs

Former Deputy Director of the Office of Management and Budget

Vice President for Government Relations, General Electric Company

Washington, D.C.

Dr. Tony Evans

Senior Pastor, Oak Cliff Bible Fellowship

Dallas, Texas

Mr. George Fermanian

President, California Residential, LLC

LaJolla, California

The Honorable Jack Fields

CEO, Twenty-First Century Group, Incorporated

Washington, D.C.

Mr. Foster Friess

Chairman, Friess Associates

Wilmington, Delaware

Mr. Ted Getterman

Retired Business Executive

Waco, Texas

Dr. Earl Grinols

Distinguished Professor of Economics, Baylor University

Waco, Texas

Dr. Allen C. Guelzo

Dean, Templeton Honors College

Grace F. Kea Professor of American History

Eastern University

St. Davids, Pennsylvania

Mr. Gerald Haddock

Haddock Investments

Fort Worth, Texas

Mr. Jim Hawkins

Chairman, FirstCity Financial Corporation

Waco, Texas

Mr. Gary Heavin

Founder, Curves International

Waco, Texas

Mr. Larry Heard

President and CEO, Transwestern Commercial Services

Houston, Texas

Mr. Orel Hershiser

World Series MVP and Cy Young Award winner

Dallas, Texas

Dr. Thomas Hibbs

Dean of the Honors College

Distinguished Professor of Ethics and Culture

Baylor University

Waco, Texas

Mr. Joe Hinton

Chairman, Brazos River Authority

Former President and CEO, Mobil Oil Europe

Waco, Texas

Dr. Byron Johnson

Fellow, Witherspoon Institute, Princeton, New Jersey

Lecturer, Department of Politics, Princeton University

Visiting Distinguished Professor of Sociology, Baylor University

Waco, Texas

Mr. Buddy Jones

Partner, HillCo Partners

Austin, Texas

Mr. Dale Jones

Retired Vice Chairman, Halliburton Company

Dallas, Texas

The Honorable Ed Kinkeade

U.S. District Judge, Northern District of Texas

Irving, Texas

Mr. Jeff Leach

Student Body President, Baylor University

Waco, Texas

Mr. Keet Lewis


Dallas, Texas

Mr. David Lockett

Vice President for Small and Medium Business

Dell Incorporated

Austin, Texas

Ms. Marsha Mayfield Lockett

Media personality

Austin, Texas

Mrs. Adair Margo

Civic leader

El Paso, Texas

Mr. Skip McBride

Partner, Bracewell & Patterson

Houston, Texas

Mrs. Elizabeth McLane

Civic leader

Temple, Texas

Dr. Martin Medhurst

Distinguished Professor of Rhetoric and Communication, Baylor University

Waco, Texas

Mrs. Louise Ornelas

Civic leader

Tyler, Texas

Ms. Laree Perez

Regent, Baylor University

Managing Partner, The Medallion Company, LLC

Albuquerque, New Mexico

Mr. Bob Perry

Chairman and CEO, Perry Homes

Houston, Texas

The Honorable Thomas R. Phillips

Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Texas

Austin, Texas

Mr. Glenn Powell

Chief of Staff, Office of U.S. Senator Jim Inhofe

Washington, D.C.

The Honorable Charles W. Pickering, Jr.

U.S. House of Representatives

Washington, D.C.

Mrs. Minette Drumwright Pratt

Baylor Regent and Civic Leader

Fort Worth, Texas

Mr. Clifton Robinson

Co-Chairman, National Lloyds Insurance Company

Waco, Texas

The Honorable Stan Schlueter

The Schlueter Group

Austin, Texas

The Honorable David Sibley

The Sibley Group

Waco, Texas

Mrs. Pam Sibley

Civic leader

Waco, Texas

Mr. Mike Singletary

Linebackers Coach, Baltimore Ravens

Baltimore, Maryland

Ms. Patsy Smith

President and Owner, Herman Smith & Company

Colleyville, Texas

Dr. Ned Snyder

Professor of Medicine, University of Texas Medical Branch

Galveston and Waco, Texas

Mr. Dary Stone

Vice Chairman, Cousins Properties

Irving, Texas

Coach Grant Teaff

Executive Director, American Football Coaches Association

Waco, Texas

Mr. Jim Turner

President and CEO, Dr. Pepper/Seven Up Bottling Group, Incorporated

Dallas, Texas

Mr. Don Willett

Deputy Attorney General for Legal Counsel, Office of the Attorney General

Austin, Texas

Mr. Don Wills

Adams-Wills Oil Company

Dallas, Texas

Ms. Kathy Wills

Baylor graduate

Washington, D.C.

Ms. Margaret Wilson

General Counsel to Governor George W. Bush, 1998-2000

Partner, Clements, O'Neill, Pierce, Wilson & Fulkerson, L.L.P.

Houston, Texas

Mrs. Rachel Ruth Lotz Wright

Wife, Mother, Homemaker

Raleigh, North Carolina

Mr. F.M. Young

Vice Chairman, Young Contractors-Knife River, MDU Resources

Waco, Texas

Mrs. Gloria Young

Civic leader

Waco, Texas

Looking for more news from Baylor University?