Baylor Faculty, Staff Receive Herbert H. Reynolds Exemplary Service Awards

News Photo 1644
L to R - Dr. Robert M. Baird, Dr. William D. Hillis, Clyde Hart Jr.,Betty Ruth Baker and Sadie Jo Black
Nov. 14, 2003

by Lori Scott Fogleman

Five Baylor University faculty and staff members - all Waco residents - were honored with the Herbert H. Reynolds Exemplary Service Award during Baylor's homecoming football game Nov. 8 at Floyd Casey Stadium.

This year's recipients were Dr. Robert M. Baird, professor and chair of philosophy and Master Teacher; Betty Ruth Baker, assistant professor of curriculum and instruction in the School of Education; Sadie Jo Black, assistant professor of home economics from 1957-92; Clyde Hart Jr., associate athletic director and head track coach; and Dr. William D. Hillis, professor and The Cornelia Marschall Smith Distinguished Professor of Biology.

The award, which was established by the 1981 senior class, honors distinguished individuals who have added to the heritage and tradition of Baylor through service and dedication to students. The award is named for Reynolds, Baylor's president emeritus.

Presenting the award were Dr. Martha Lou Scott and Dr. David Pennington, members of the Herbert H. Reynolds Exemplary Service Award committee.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?