Yale Professor To Deliver Cherry Finalist Lecture Oct. 27

Oct. 22, 2003

Dr. Nicholas Wolterstorff, a finalist for the Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching, will deliver a lecture at 3:30 p.m. Monday, Oct. 27, in room 100 at Morrison Constitution Hall. Wolterstorff's lecture, "Would You Stomp on a Picture of Your Mother? Would You Kiss an Icon? Reflections on the Veneration of Representations," is free and open to the public.

The Noah Porter Professor of Philosophical Theology, Emeritus, at Yale's Divinity School, Wolterstorff has been a prominent contributor to the analytical philosophy of religion. His work ranges across metaphysics, epistemology, political philosophy, the history of philosophy, theology and aesthetics and the philosophy of religion. He received his bachelor's degree from Calvin College and his master's degree and doctorate from Harvard University. Before coming to Yale in 1989, he taught at the Free University of Amsterdam, the University of Notre Dame and Calvin College.

He has written 15 books, including "Art in Action," "Works and Worlds of Art," "Until Justice and Peace Embrace," "Lament for a Son" and "Divine Discourse." A sought-after speaker, his lectures include those at Oxford University, St. Andrews University and Princeton University. Wolterstorff served as president of the American Philosophical Association's Central Division and of the Society of Christian Philosophers. He received honorary doctorates from Northwestern College in Iowa, Gordon College and Houghton College. In 1992, Calvin College named him a distinguished alumnus.

The winner of the Cherry Award for Great Teaching will be announced in spring 2004, will receive $200,000 plus $25,000 for his or her home department and will teach in residence at Baylor during the 2005 spring semester. The Cherry finalists each will receive $15,000 and will present a series of lectures at Baylor during the fall. Each will present a Cherry Award Lecture on their home campuses during the 2003-2004 academic year. The home department of the finalists also will receive $10,000 to foster the development of teaching skills.

In addition to Wolterstorff, the other Cherry finalists are Dr. Harry Stout, Jonathan Edwards Professor of American Religious History at Yale University and Dr. Eleonore Stump, Robert J. Henle Professor of Philosophy at Saint Louis University.

For more information, contact Linda McGregor, coordinator of the Cherry Award program, at (254) 710-2923.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?