Baylor's A Cappella Choir To Perform Fall Concert Oct. 28

Oct. 20, 2003

by Richard Veit

Baylor University's nationally acclaimed A Cappella Choir will present its annual fall concert at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 28, in Jones Concert Hall in the Glennis McCrary Music Building. The 58-voice choir performs under the leadership of Dr. Donald Bailey, director of choral activities and The Mary Gibbs Jones Professor of Music.

The choir will open the program with two pieces, "Frolocket, ihr Völker auf Erden" and "Heilig," by Felix Mendelssohn, followed by "Vere languores nostros" by Tomás Luis de Victoria and Johann Sebastian Bach's motet for double choir "Komm, Jesu, Komm!" The choir also will perform "Let the People Praise Thee, O God" by William Mathias, "Draw Us in the Spirit's Tether" by Harold W. Friedell and "O Be Joyful in the Lord" by John Rutter.

The second half of the concert will begin with Z. Randall Stroope's "Lamentations of Jeremiah," followed by two Songs of Faith ("Be Thou My Vision" and "Psalm 23") by Paul Basler, featuring Assistant Professor of Horn Jeffrey Powers, and Randol Alan Bass's "Gloria."

The A Cappella Choir will sing "The Road Not Taken" and "Choose Something Like a Star" from Randall Thompson's setting of seven poems of Robert Frost, known collectively as Frostiana. The program will conclude with John W. Work's arrangement of the gospel tune "This Little Light of Mine" and then William L. Dawson's "Ezekiel Saw De Wheel."

The Baylor A Cappella Choir concert is free and open to the public. For more information, call the Baylor University School of Music at 710-3991.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?