Baylor to Present Dean's Honor Concert

March 27, 2009

by Lillyan Baker, student newswriter, (254) 710-6805

Baylor University's School of Music will present the annual Dean's Honor Concert on Monday, March 30, at 7:30 p.m. in Roxy Grove Hall on the Baylor campus.

The event, which is free and open to the public, will showcase 14 of the School of Music's finest student performers.

Serving as the collaborative pianists for the program are Kae Hosoda-Ayer and Lelia Sadlier of the Baylor music faculty.

Christopher Johnson, will open the concert with the "Allegro deciso" movement from French composer Marcel Dupré's Evocation.

Soprano Joanie Brittingham will sing "Spiel' ich die Unschuld vom Lande" from the opera Die Fledermaus by Johann Strauss, Jr. Marimbist, Robert McCullagh will perform two movements from Jacob Druckman's Reflections on the Nature of Water. Violist, Dawson White will play the Romance for viola and piano by Ralph Vaughan Williams.

Clarinetist Eric Williams will present Hommage à Manuel de Falla by Béla Kovács, and then pianist Alfredo Ovalles will perform Merengue by Federico Ruiz and the Marc-André Hamelin arrangement of Zequinha de Abreu's Tico-Tico No Fubá.

Three chamber works will close the program. A sextet for flute, clarinet, harp, piano, violin and cello will play A Specific Time by student composer Margaret Crites. Baritone, Luis Antonio González will sing Samuel Barber's Dover Beach. A group of six trumpeters will conclude the concert with the opening movement from Oskar Böhme's Trompeten-Sextet. The six trumpeters will be Adam Gautille, Sarah Harris, Ross Ahlhorn, Chelsea Orr, Simon Bosch and Brian Martínez.

For more information, call the Baylor's School of Music at (254) 710-3991.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?