Phi Beta Kappa Chapter Receives National Award

Sept. 9, 2003

The Phi Beta Kappa Society presented a new award for excellence to its chapter at Baylor University during the Society's 40th Triennial Council in Seattle. The inaugural award to the Baylor chapter - Zeta of Texas - includes $1,000 and a certificate.

"We were both surprised and honored to be selected as one of the initial recipients of the Phi Beta Kappa Society's Outstanding Chapter award," said Dr. Philip Johnson, professor of Spanish and secretary of the Baylor chapter. "Out of 270 active PBK chapters in the nation, Baylor was one of three institutions selected for its ongoing commitment to the ideals of liberal education and its efforts to recognize academic excellence."

The chapter, now in its 27th year, was cited for its sponsorship of the Roy B. Albaugh Lectureship, the Henry L. Robinson Scholarship, the National Merit Scholars' reception and its activities to encourage a wide range of academic opportunities for students.

"Its members have set an excellent example of how to make a constructive impact on a campus community," said John Churchill, secretary (CEO) of Phi Beta Kappa. "It is exciting to see the values of Phi Beta Kappa given such tangible and valuable expression."

The Baylor PBK award was in the private university category. The winner among chapters at liberal arts colleges was Williams College, and the University of Idaho chapter received the award for a public university.

Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation's oldest and largest academic honor society, with more than half a million members. There are Society chapters at 270 U.S. colleges and universities and about 60 community-based PBK associations, which are open to all PBK members in their regions.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?