Nominations Sought For Texas Baptist Ministry Awards

Aug. 5, 2003

The Baptist Standard and Baylor University will honor three of the state's most outstanding vocational and lay ministers during the Baptist General Convention of Texas annual session this fall.

Nominations are being accepted through Sept. 15 for the Texas Baptist Ministry Awards, to be presented at the Truett Theological Seminary dinner at the BGCT meeting in Lubbock.

The awards program encompass three recognitions, each named for a prominent Texas Baptist.

The George W. Truett Award, named for the legendary pastor of First Baptist Church of Dallas in the first half of the 20th century, will honor a Texas Baptist minister for a singular ministry achievement in the recent past.

Nominees may include pastors, church staff members, denominational employees, associational workers, Baptist educators, Baptist social workers, chaplains or anyone engaged in vocational ministry.

The first recipient of the Truett Award, presented during the BGCT annual session last year, was Albert Reyes, president of the Hispanic Baptist Theological School in San Antonio.

The Winfred Moore Award, named for the longtime pastor of First Baptist Church of Amarillo, will honor a Texas Baptist minister for a lifetime of exceptional achievement in ministry.

Nominees may include pastors, church staff members, social workers, educators or anyone engaged in an expression of vocational ministry.

Tillie Burgin, founder and executive director of Mission Arlington/Mission Metroplex in Arlington, received the inaugural Moore Award last year.

The Marie Mathis Award will honor a layperson for a recent singular ministry achievement or a lifetime ministry achievement.

The laity award is named in honor the first woman elected to office in the Southern Baptist Convention, who also worked on the staff of First Baptist Church of Dallas, directed the Baptist Student Union at Baylor for more than 25 years and served as president of both Texas and SBC Woman's Missionary Union.

Ophelia Humphrey, a longtime state convention and congregational leader from First Baptist Church in Amarillo, received the first Mathis Award last year.

Each award will carry a $5,000 prize.

Nominations must be made in writing and should include the name, address and position of the nominee, as well as the name, address and phone number of the nominator. The letter should include a brief biographical description of the nominee and a brief description of the ministry achievement that distinguishes the nominee.

Nominations should be received by Sept. 15. They should be mailed to:

Texas Baptist Ministry Awards Nominations

Office of University Relations

Baylor University

Box 97024

Waco, Texas 76798-7024

Looking for more news from Baylor University?