Retired Faculty, Staff To Be Honored May 10

May 9, 2003

The Baylor University Alumni Association and the Retired Professors Center will honor four retired faculty members and one retired staff member at the annual Retired Faculty and Staff Awards Luncheon at noon Saturday, May 10, on the fifth floor of the Cashion Academic Center in the Hankamer School of Business.

The awards are presented annually to recipients in recognition of their scholarship, devotion, and service to the university. Baylor President Robert B. Sloan Jr. will present the awards.

Recipients of the Retired Faculty Award are Dr. John C. Flynn, professor emeritus of psychology and neuroscience (1963-1996); Dr. Frank Leavell, professor emeritus of English (1965-1995); Dr. Russell Lester, professor emeritus of religion and W. Marshall and Lulie Craig Professor of Bible (1957-1999); and Hilda Smith, lecturer in visual arts (1958-1986). The Retired Administrators Award will be presented to Velma Dwyer, credit manager (1951-1982).

For more information, contact Dr. Rufus B. Spain, emeritus professor of history and director of the Retired Professors Center Program, at 710-6308.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?