Strasburger & Price Moot Court Contest Draws A Crowd At Law School

  • News Photo 1238
    Finalists Paige Pritchard, Paul Bailiff, Andrew Ryan, and Joshua Scott relax after the contest. (Alan Hunt photo)
  • News Photo 1239
    Contest winner Andrew Ryan, 23, makes his presentation from the podium in the Kronzer Appellate Advocacy Courtroom. (Alan Hunt photo)
April 7, 2003

by Alan Hunt

Finalists in Baylor Law School's annual Strasburger & Price, L.L.P. Spring Moot Court Competition demonstrated their courtroom skills before a packed audience Saturday afternoon at the James Kronzer Appellate Advocacy Courtroom.

Winners of the contest were Baylor law students Andrew Ryan of Shreveport, La., and Joshua Scott of Rome, Ohio. Runners-up were Paige Pritchard of Cleburne, and Paul Bailiff of Houston. These four students were the worthy "survivors" of a fiercely contested intramural tournament that got underway two months ago with a field of 60 two-person teams.

The students argued an issue involving the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act, the federal law that governs consumer product warranties. Passed by Congress 28 years ago, the Act requires manufacturers and sellers of consumer products to provide consumers with detailed warranty coverage information.

Deciding the winners in the final round were five Waco and Central Texas area judges: Judge Walter S. Smith Jr., Judge Jeffrey C. Manske, Chief Justice Rex D. Davis, Justice Tom Gray and Judge Ralph T. Strother; Law Professor Brian Serr; and three law students, Danielle Kujawa, Jason Bernhardt, and Kelly Rivera.

The winning team was announced at a reception in the student lounge following the courtroom hearing. Also announced were the top speakers during the contest -- Paul Bailiff, Andrew Ryan, Shana Burleson, Jessica Russell, Gwen Walraven, Autumn Smith, David Jones, Carol Henry, Heather Pringle, Jennifer Stein and Jamie Pavillard.

Student organizers of the contest were Allen Gardner, Somer George and Wesley Lotz. Faculty sponsors were Professor Larry Bates and Dean Brad Toben.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?