National 'Who's Who Among Students' Award Presented to 72 Baylor Students

Jan. 31, 2008

Seventy-two Baylor University students recently were selected for membership in the nationally respected honors program, Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. The Who's Who award is conferred by more than 2,000 schools across the nation.

Nominations of upperclass, graduate, professional or seminary students are submitted by faculty, staff and student organizations, and are then reviewed by the office of the dean of student development. Recipients are chosen based on a GPA requirement, leadership in academic and co-curricular activities and involvement in community service. Typically, approximately 50 percent of nominated students are awarded the Who's Who honor.

"This is indeed a prestigious award because they were nominated by their student peers, professors, and campus mentors for their outstanding academic achievements," said Dr. Elizabeth Palacios, dean for student development. "These students exemplify a well-balanced and holistic approach to student development in higher education."

Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges was established more than 60 years ago by Pettus Randall, an alumnus from the University of Alabama who desired to develop an honors program that would select and recognize outstanding students for their academic accomplishments and scholastic contributions.

More information about the award may be found at or through Baylor's web site.

The student recipients are listed below in alphabetical order.


• Mr. Andrew Thomas Adams

• Mr. William Paul Allcorn

• Mr. Bradley Scott Arnold


• Ms. Kate Alden Bailey

• Mr. George Thomas Barido

• Ms. Laura Joanne Barth

• Mr. Matthew Joel Benesh

• Ms. Blair Kathryn Bishop

• Ms. Joan Ann Brittingham

• Mr. Matthew N. Brown


• Ms. Catherine York Cagle

• Ms. Lindsey Michelle Coffman

• Ms. Kelly Michelle Coleman

• Mr. Ben Alan Collins

• Ms. Alexandra Rhea Colyer

• Ms. Allyson Claire Cook

• Ms. Lydia R. Cooper

• Mr. Jonathan David Crabtree


• Ms. Sarah Margaret Davis


• Mr. Daniel Sefton Farris

• Ms. Victoria Cherie Fields

• Mr. Bryan Douglas Fonville

• Ms. Megan Annsley Forbes


• Ms. Sara Alice Geyer

• Ms. Tara Nyambura Gitau

• Ms. Stacie Lynn Gonsalves

• Ms. Zoe Michelle Grant

• Mr. Gary David Guadagnolo


• Mr. Martin Lorenzo Hechanova

• Mr. Robert James Heyde

• Ms. Lillian Marie Hinds

• Ms. Amy Nicole Hinkelman

• Mr. Galan Montie Hughes


• Ms. Julia Clayton Johnson


• Mr. James Thomas Kimmel

• Ms. Stephanie Elizabeth Kirst

• Ms. Rebecca Kay Klopfenstein


• Ms. Bethany Lynn Lam

• Ms. Carmen Cecilia Li Shen

• Ms. Alison Lynn Lueck

• Ms. Whitney Kayla Lye


• Mr. Mark Arthur Macy

• Ms. Jennifer Anne Marquez

• Ms. Amy Erin McGauhey

• Ms. Heather Rae McLeod


• Ms. Natalie Grace O'Connor

• Ms. Rachel Kathrynne O'Neal

• Ms. Rachel Jenea Ozsoy


• Mr. Joseph Charles Pawelek

• Ms. Whitney Rachel Petty

• Ms. Elizabeth Ann Pickens


• Ms. Lydia Nicole Rogers


• Mr. Luke Christopher Schmidt

• Ms. Jordan Beth Secord

• Ms. Kathryn Elizabeth Silverman

• Ms. Tiffany Rachelle Skiles

• Ms. Kayla Jeanell Smith

• Mr. Julien Charles Smith

• Ms. Allyson Jane Smith

• Ms. Claire Suzanne St. Amant

• Ms. Allison Elizabeth Strickland

• Mr. Lance Wade Summey


• Ms. Christine Marie Tamer

• Ms. Sarah Elizabeth Torneten


• Mr. Adam Jonathon Urrutia


• Ms. Tihara Aynaara Vargas


• Ms. Marleta Jo Walton

• Mr. Browning Shelton Wayman

• Ms. Summer Kate Wilkes

• Ms. Ann Hawthorne Williams

• Mr. Taylor Harrison Williams

• Ms. Rickesha Lanee' Wilson

Looking for more news from Baylor University?