Retired Faculty Awards to Be Presented May 5

  • News Photo 4083
    Dr. William F. Cooper
  • News Photo 4085
    Dr. John Van Cura
  • News Photo 4086
    Dr. James Vardaman
  • News Photo 4087
    Dr. Joseph Velez
May 3, 2007

by Judy Prather, Baylor Alumni Association, (254) 710-6431

The Baylor Alumni Association will honor four retired faculty members during a May 5 luncheon co-sponsored by the Baylor Retired Professors/Administrators Program. Baylor President John M. Lilley will present the awards, which are given annually in recognition of scholarship, devotion and service to the university.

Recipients of the 2007 Retired Faculty Awards are Dr. William F. Cooper, emeritus professor of philosophy and former dean of the College of Arts and Sciences; Dr. John Van Cura, professor emeritus of vocal studies in the Baylor School of Music; Dr. James Vardaman, Master Teacher who held The Jo Murphy Chair in International Education and directed numerous Baylor study-abroad programs; and Dr. Joseph Velez, professor emeritus of Spanish and the founding director of the Spanish Language Summer Program in Mexico.

The May 5 luncheon will begin at noon on the fifth floor of the Cashion Academic Center in the Hankamer School of Business. For more information, contact the Baylor Alumni Association at (254) 710-1121 or go to

Looking for more news from Baylor University?