Student Publications and Writers Receive Prestigious Awards at TIPA Convention

March 30, 2007

by Paige Patton, coordinator of news and information, (254) 710-3321

The Baylor University student publications department won nine on-site contests and 35 pre-published awards at the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association convention in San Antonio March 22-24. Eight students received awards from contests held Thursday, March 22, and 17 students won awards from material published from January-December 2006. The Baylor Lariat, Round Up yearbook and Focus magazine also received accolades. Below is a detailed list of awards and recipients:

On-site contest results (held Thursday, March 22, and open to any school in any division)

1st place - Copy Editing - Grace Maalouf, sophomore University Scholar from Fort Worth

1st place - Headline Writing - Grace Maalouf

1st place - Two-person Photo Essay - Melea Burke, senior journalism and philosophy major from Longview, and Abbie Rosen, sophomore biology and pre-med major from Waco

1st place - Yearbook Design - Meghan Giddens, sophomore public relations major from Whitehouse

1st place - Editorial Cartoon - Ben Humeniuk, junior English and studio art major from Brownwood

2nd place - Feature Writing - Claire St. Amant, junior journalism and professional writing major from Katy

2nd place - Feature Photography - Melea Burke

2nd place - PR Crisis Management - Melissa May, senior communication specialist and public relations major from Pampa

Honorable mention - Newspaper Design - Jordan Daniel, senior history and journalism major from Waco

Pre-published contest results (for material published Jan.-Dec. 2006)

NEWSPAPER DIVISION 1 (schools who publish two or more editions per week)

1st place - Special Section/Edition - Lariat Staff

1st place - Feature Story - Van Darden, senior journalism and world affairs major from Waco

2nd place - Sports Feature Photo - Melea Burke

2nd place - Headline - Jordan Daniel

2nd place - Page One Design - Jordan Daniel

2nd place - Single Subject Presentation - Kelly Coleman, master's candidate in international journalism from Waco

3rd place - Feature Story - Claire St. Amant

3rd place - Sports Column - Will Parchman, junior history and journalism major from Austin

3rd place - Illustration - Ben Humeniuk

3rd place - Feature Page Design - Amy Hall, senior public relations major from Humble

3rd place - News Feature Story - Claire St. Amant

3rd place - Critical Review - Faith Korpi, junior telecommunications major from Bonita Springs, Florida

Honorable mention - Sports Page Design - Kelly Coleman

Honorable mention - Sports Feature Story - Will Parchman

Honorable mention - Editorial Cartoon - Ben Humeniuk


1st place - Cover Design - Round Up staff

1st place - Feature/Student Life - Kelly Knox, senior journalism and social work major from Balch Springs

2nd place - Academics Story Package - Round Up staff

2nd place - Class Page/People Spread - Shelby Johnson, sophomore English and pre-med major from Waco

2nd place- Organizations Copy - Allisen Picos, senior public relations major from Houston

2nd place - Overall Excellence - Round Up staff

3rd place - Sports Feature Photo - Steven Heldenbrand, 2006 alumnus from Katy

Honorable mention - Academics Story Package - Round Up staff

Honorable mention - Sports Package- Jessica Youngpeter, 2006 alumna from Georgetown

Honorable mention - Sports Action Photo - Steven Heldenbrand

Honorable mention - Photo Essay - Round Up staff

Honorable mention - Class Page/People Spread - Victoria Parnell, sophomore University Scholar from Cordova, Tenn.

Honorable mention - Student Life Copy - Kelly Knox


2nd place - Feature Photo - Jessica Dooley, senior business journalism major from Ardmore, Okla.

2nd place - Illustration - Ben Humeniuk

2nd place - News Feature Story - Sarah Gordon, senior public relations major from Mansfield

3rd place - Feature Story - Jordan Daniel

Honorable mention - Overall Excellence - Focus magazine

Honorable mention - Cover Design - Focus staff

Honorable mention - Story Package - Focus staff

"We are so proud of our students' efforts this year. It's so nice for them to have their work recognized and to see how they compare to other schools," said Stephanie MacVeigh, director of student publications. "We also had more on-site awards this year than in any previous year."

The Baylor Lariat has been in publication since 1900 and the Round Up has published editions since 1901. Focus started as a newsprint insert in the Lariat in the 1990s and became a full glossy magazine in 1998.

With the original 1909 meeting at Baylor, the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA) became the oldest collegiate press association in the nation and has grown into one of the largest and most respected collegiate groups in the country.

Contests have grown from three initial competitions to contests in general magazine, radio, television, online, two divisions of yearbook, literary magazine and six divisions of newspaper, plus more than 25 on-site contests during the annual convention.

TIPA also presents scholarships to students representing two-year and four-year institutions and annually recognizes a faculty Adviser of the Year. This award is special because recipients are nominated by their student staff members.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?