Two Baylor Teams Qualify for National Debate Tournament

March 15, 2007

Two Baylor University debate teams have qualified for the prestigious National Debate Tournament, to be held March 28 -April 2 in Dallas. Baylor is one of only 18 other debate programs that will be represented by multiple teams at the tournament. Currently, Baylor is ranked No. 19 in the nation heading into the national tournament and is the top-ranked debate team in Texas. This year, 78 teams will compete in the national tournament.

The team of Obie Lansford, a senior from Sherman, Texas, and Halli Tripe, a junior from Kearney, Neb., qualified at the District 3 tournament held in Austin two weeks ago. Lansford and Tripe posted wins over teams from the University of Texas at Austin, Kansas State, Central Oklahoma, and Missouri State University, the tournament̢۪s top-ranked team.

The team of Josh Oie, a senior from White Bear Lake, Minn., and Brooks Johnson, a senior from Flower Mound, received an “at-large” invitation to the national tournament because of their outstanding regular season. Oie and Johnson compiled an impressive 63 percent win-loss record for the season.

“It is truly a great achievement that Baylor has qualified not one, but two teams to the prestigious National Debate Tournament,” said Dr. Matt Gerber, assistant professor and director of the Baylor debate program. “It is difficult to overstate the dedication, hard work, long hours and commitment to excellence demonstrated by these four Baylor students. Obie, Halli, Brooks and Josh have really led the way for the team this season, and it is great to see them get recognition for their exceptional effort. We hope to represent Baylor strongly at the national tournament.”

Baylor̢۪s Glenn R. Capp Debate Forum has had a remarkable history on the national debate stage. Baylor has qualified a team for the NDT a staggering 48 times, including every year since 1984. Only five other universities have qualified for the tournament more times than Baylor. A Baylor team won the national championship in 1975, 1987 and 1989; placed second in the tournament in 1949, 1952, 1962 and 1988; and third in 1951, 1960, 1961, 1986 and 1996.

For more information about Baylor debate, contact Gerber at (254) 710-6917.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?