Baylor Law School Grads To Receive Degrees Feb. 8

Feb. 3, 2003

by Alan Hunt

Twenty-eight graduates of Baylor University School of Law are scheduled to receive juris doctor degrees during commencement ceremonies at 10 a.m. Saturday, Feb. 8, in Jones Concert Hall at the Glennis McCrary Music Building.

The keynote speaker, who was selected by the graduating class to deliver the commencement address, will be Professor William D. Underwood, who directs Baylor Law School's nationally acclaimed Practice Court program. Underwood, who serves as the Leon Jaworski Professor of Practice and Procedure, received his law degree from the University of Illinois. He has been a member of the Baylor law faculty since 1990.

Diplomas will be presented during the program by Law Dean Brad Toben, assisted by Leah W. Jackson, associate dean.

The honor of hooding the graduates will go to Professor William R. Trail, The Darrell L. Keith Professor of Law and Medicine, and Professor David M. Guinn, who serves as The Louise L. Morrison Professor of Constitutional Law and Master Teacher.

The invocation will be given by Professor Melissa A. Essary.

After the ceremony, a reception for the graduates and their guests will be hosted by the Baylor Law Alumni Association in the Sheila and Walter Umphrey Law Center.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?