Symphonic Band Plays Last Concert Of The Fall Dec. 9

Dec. 5, 2002

by Richard Veit

Baylor University's Symphonic Band will perform its final fall semester concert at

7:30 p.m. Monday, Dec. 9, in Jones Concert Hall.

This 65-member ensemble is conducted by associate director of bands Barry Kraus.

The program will open with a march from 1943 by Russian composer Sergei Prokofieff. His March, Op. 9, was written on a commission by Russia Radio for a performance by renowned bandmaster Ivan Petrov. The three movements from the Medieval Suite by Ron Nelson will follow.

William Schuman's George Washington Bridge is a tribute to that famous structure in New York City.

The Symphonic Band will perform the Joseph Kreines arrangement of Two Grainger Melodies, Percy Grainger's settings of "Six Dukes Went a-Fishin' " and "Early One Morning."

Closing the concert will be the first set of English Dances by Malcolm Arnold, transcribed for wind band by Maurice Johnstone from the orchestral scoring.

This concert is free and open to the public. For more information, call the Baylor School of Music at 710-3991.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?