Model Organization Of American States Team Brings Home Seven Awards

News Photo 848
Baylor's Model Organization of American States team
Nov. 15, 2002

by Amanda Lewis, Student Newswriter

Baylor University's Model Organization of American States team captured seven awards, including Distinguished Delegation and Leadership of the Model, at the Model Organization of American States Conference held Nov. 7-11 at St. Mary's University in San Antonio.

This was the sixth consecutive year Baylor has participated in the competition, which is sponsored by the World Affairs Council of San Antonio. The 24-member Baylor contingent represented the countries of Ecuador and Mexico.

"This team is unique because for the first time, we have a solid core of students who have participated and won before, and who are doing a great job of mentoring new members. The team, although large this year, has melded into a single cooperative unit," said Dr. Joan Supplee, director of Latin American Studies, who serves as team coach with Dr. Janet Adamski, assistant professor of political science.

Teams from 22 colleges and universities across Texas and Mexico represented countries that are members of the Organization of American States. Students acted as delegates from various countries in North and South America and debated international issues such as free trade, money laundering, humane treatment of prisoners and border security. During the conference, participants heard addresses by Peter DeShazo, Deputy U.S. Permanent Representative to the OAS, and Oliver Garza, U.S. Ambassador to Nicaragua. Both men emphasized the importance of the OAS and the value of a career in foreign service.

Three Baylor representatives served as conference leaders throughout the week. Perla Elena Gamez, a Laredo senior, was named Secretary-General; Peter Ghobrial, a Baytown graduate student, served as conference Parliamentarian; and senior Rosario Escajeda contributed as a Rappatour.

Five students also won individual awards. Receiving Distinguished Delegate awards for their work on the Inter-American Human Rights Committee, Drug Abuse Commission, and Committee on Hemispheric Security were Eric Heraly, a senior from Bay City; Pastor Giraud, a senior from Houston; and Joanna Cattanach, a senior from Blum. Cattanach also was honored as a Distinguished Head Delegate. Fort Worth senior Wes Johnson was named an Outstanding Delegate for his work on the Inter-American Juridical Committee. Emily Matlock, a junior from Shreveport, La., earned recognition as an Outstanding Chair.

Heraly served as head delegate for the Ecuador team, and Cattanach served as head delegate for the Mexico team. Other team members included Greg Sanderson, a senior from Nacogdoches; Kurt Conner, a senior from The Woodlands; Travis Kelly, a junior from Waxahachie; Bernado Aguilar, a junior from Cleburne; Chase Browning, a sophomore from Colleyville; Tatiana Brugnoli, a senior from Mendoza, Argentina; Leah Davis, a sophomore from Waco; Regina DeBrosse-Rodriguez, a sophomore from Hialeah Gardens, Fla.; James Griffin, a junior from West Monroe, La.; Lisa Kelley, a senior from Louisville, Ky.; Ray Lopez, a junior from San Antonio; Paola Maini, a senior from Mendoza, Argentina; Farrah Rajabi, a senior from Houston; Andrea Sauters, a sophomore from Cleburne; Melissa Tilger, a senior from Waco; and Alfredo Torres Jr., a graduate student from El Paso.

For more information contact Supplee at (254) 710-6294 or

Looking for more news from Baylor University?