A Decade Of Excellence: Baylor Team Wins Model Organization Of American States

News Photo 3870
Baylor's MOAS team receives the Outstanding Delegation award from Barbara Schneider, executive director of the World Affairs Council of San Antonio, and Ambassador Eugene Scassa.
Nov. 7, 2006

For the 10th year in a row, the Baylor University Model Organization of American States Team has taken top honors as the Outstanding Delegation at the MOAS competition held Nov. 2-4 at St. Mary's University. The annual competition was sponsored by the World Affairs Council of San Antonio.

Fifteen universities, including two from Mexico, represented 20 countries in the Organization of American States (OAS). Baylor represented two countries: Mexico and Nicaragua, and participants researched and debated issues of concern to the hemisphere such as decentralization, terrorism, privacy issues, conflict resolution, extradition, drug demand reduction and transparency in banking.

Baylor led this year's model in the number of awards, receiving seven out of 18. In addition to the team award, individual award winners were:

• Head Delegate for Nicaragua, Elizabeth Russell, a senior international studies major from Robinson, who won recognition as Outstanding Ambassador and Outstanding Delegate in the Committee on Juridical and Political Affairs.

• Amanda Crews, a junior international studies major from Temple, who received the Outstanding Delegate Award in the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights.

• Ariel Alexander, a sophomore international studies and Spanish major from Córdoba, Argentina, who won the Distinguished Delegate award in that committee.

• Alyssa Engle, a sophomore international studies major from Park Ridge, Ill., who won the Outstanding Delegate Award in the Committee on Hemispheric Security.

• Eva Silkwood, a senior international studies major from Coldspring and Cassidy Ford, a sophomore University Scholar from Phoenix, who both received recognition as Distinguished Delegates in the Inter-American Drug Enforcement Committee.

Ricardo Carrillo, a graduate student in international relations from Amarillo, chaired the Committee on Hemispheric Security, and Megan McNerney, international studies major from Troy, Ohio, chaired the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights.

Other team members included: Leticia Silva, Head Delegate for Mexico, a senior real estate and economics major from Houston; Denise Alvarez, a senior history major from Lorena; Xhemile Baca, a senior international studies major from Houston; Pedro Delgado, a junior political science major from San Antonio; Eric Koestner, a junior Accounting major from Chicago; Manny Muñoz, a sophomore neuroscience major from San Antonio; Maureen Ndoto, a senior international studies major from Kennesaw, Ga.; Raquel Nunes, an international exchange student from Belo Horizonte, Brazil, who is studying law; Brenton Otis, a freshman international studies/philosophy major from Abilene; Seth Reed, a sophomore political science major from Cassville, Mo.; and Eva Studer, a sophomore history major from Brenham.

Dr. Joan Supplee, associate professor of history and director of the Baylor in Argentina study abroad program, coached the team.

Team members heard from several prominent officials, including Ambassador John Maisto, permanent representative of the United States to the Organization of American States; Craig Schnupp, vice president of international crude supply and trading for the Valero Oil Co.; Raul Rodriquez, chairman of the San Antonio World Affairs Board and former CEO of the North American Development Bank; and President Charles L. Cotrell of St. Mary's University. The leaders each emphasized the importance of the OAS, international education and the value of a careers in Foreign Service.

For more information, contact Supplee at (254) 710-6294 or Joan_Supplee@baylor.edu.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?