Four Baylor Supporters To Receive W.R. White Awards Oct. 25

Oct. 22, 2002

by Lori Scott Fogleman

The Baylor University Alumni Association will honor four recipients of the W.R. White Meritorious Service Award during the annual membership meeting of the Baylor Alumni Association. The presentation will be held at 3 p.m. Friday, Oct. 25, in Jones Theater of the Hooper-Schaefer Fine Arts Center.

Award recipients for 2002 are Gloriana Simmons Parchman of Dallas, Leo Parchman Jr. of Dallas, Donell Phillips Teaff of Waco and W. Fred Cameron of Houston.

The Parchmans, both 1954 Baylor graduates, endowed the Parchman Lectures, which bring world-renowned theologians to the Baylor campus and encourage dynamic discussion on topics related to theological studies. Leo Parchman retired from Oryx Energy Co. in 1992, and has served on the Baylor Alumni Association board, the board of advisors for the Hankamer School of Business and as chair of the Baylor Development Council. Named permanent secretary of the class of 1954, Gloriana Parchman has served on the alumni association board, chaired Baylor Fling and helped organize the Baylor Women's Council of Dallas, an organization that presented her with the Woman of Distinction award in 2001. She also served a term as the council's president. The Parchmans are members of First Baptist Church of Richardson, where they are active in missions.

Teaff is a member of the Baylor Board of Regents and the wife of former Baylor head football coach and athletic director Grant Teaff. She is a permanent board member of the American Football Coaches' Wives Association and in 1998 received the First Lady of Football Award from the All-American Football Foundation. A graduate of Texas Tech University, Teaff has served as president of Baylor Round Table and as president, sponsor and adviser for the Baylor chapter and past national officer of Delta Delta Delta sorority. The Teaffs are members of First Baptist Church of Waco, where she is a deacon.

Cameron, a former Baylor Regent and board chairman, is a senior partner with the law firm Fulbright & Jaworski LLP in Houston. He earned his bachelor's degree in business administration from Baylor in 1960 and his law degree from Baylor Law School in 1962. Cameron has served Baylor as chair of the development council and as president of the Houston Baylor Club and the Baylor Parents League of West Houston. In 1984, Cameron and his wife, Princess, a 1960 Baylor graduate, were named Baylor Parents of the Year. The Camerons are members of Tallowood Baptist Church.

The W.R. White Award is given to individuals who have rendered outstanding service to Baylor and express continued interest in and loyalty to the university. The recipients do not have to be former students or graduates of Baylor.

For more information, contact Shelby Peak of Baylor Alumni Services at 710-6438.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?