School Of Music Professors Named 2002-2003 Ascap Award Recipients

Sept. 6, 2002

by Amanda Lewis, Student Newswriter

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers awarded two faculty members of Baylor University's School of Music the 2002-03 ASCAP Award for excellence in music composition.

Dr. James M. Bennighof, professor of music theory, director of academic studies and assistant dean for academic affairs, and Scott McAllister, assistant professor OF composition, were named recipients of the award in August. ASCAP Award winners are selected by an independent panel of judges made up of composers, musicians, music critics and educators.

"Awards are based upon the uinque prestige value of each writer's catalog and original compositions, as well as recent performances in areas not surveyed by the Society," said Marilyn Bergman, president and chairman of the ASCAP board.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?