Dub Oliver Receives "Moon" Mullins Award

Sept. 12, 2006
News Photo 3767Dr. Samuel W. "Dub" Oliver

by Jodi Cunningham, student newswriter, (254) 710-1961

Dr. Samuel W. "Dub" Oliver, vice president for student life and visiting professor in management, was named the 2006 inductee to the Norman "Moon" Mullins Honor Roll for Distinguished Faculty and Staff.

The award was created as a memorial the late Norman "Moon" Mullins, a 1952 Baylor alumnus. A member of the Baylor development staff from 1981-84, Mullins also served as executive director of the Baylor Bear Foundation from 1984-87. The award signifies leadership, devotion and an overall love for Baylor athletics, all of which Mullins demonstrated.

Every year, the Mullins family selects one faculty or staff member who unselfishly gives of his or her time, talent and financial support to Baylor's total academic-athletic program. The honoree must also be a member of the Baylor Bear Foundation and be devoted to educating student-athletes.

The 19th honoree of the award, Oliver was recognized during the halftime activities at the Baylor football game Sept. 4. Joined on the field by the Mullins family, Oliver received a green sport coat, a gift for all Mullins award recipients, signifying his induction onto the honor roll.

The award was especially meaningful to Oliver because he remembers meeting Moon while he was a student at Baylor. Oliver was impressed by Mullins' commitment and dedication to Baylor along with the quality of relationships he had with so many people.

"Receiving this honor means a great deal to me," Oliver said. "Moon and Betty represent the very best of Baylor University. Although I certainly don't deserve such recognition, I am honored by it."

Oliver earned his bachelor's degree in education from Baylor in 1987 and went on to earn his master's and doctorate degrees from Texas A&M. He was honored as a Mortar Board Outstanding Professor in 1995 and 2001, as a member of Baylor's Outstanding Executive Staff in 2001 and as an Outstanding Young Alumnus in 2004. In July of 2006, Baylor President John M. Lilley appointed Oliver to his current position of vice president of student life.

Past recipients of the award include Harold Cunningham (2000), Linda Livingstone (2001), Howard Dudgeon (2002), Phyllis Gamble (2003), Larry Chonko (2004) and Andy Pittman (2005).

For more information, contact the Baylor Bear Foundation at (254) 710-2582.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?