Baylor Law School To Graduate 41 Aug. 3

July 23, 2002

by Alan Hunt

Professor William D. Underwood, director of Baylor Law School's acclaimed Practice Court program, will give the keynote address at commencement ceremonies Saturday, Aug. 3, for 41 law school graduates.

The graduation program, scheduled for 10 a.m., will be held in Jones Concert Hall at the Glennis McCrary Music Building on the Baylor campus. Law Dean Brad Toben and Melissa A. Essary, professor of law, will confer juris doctor degrees on the graduates, and the honor of hooding the graduates will go to Gerald R. Powell, who serves as The Abner V. McCall Professor of Evidence, and Matthew C. Cordon, assistant professor of law and reference librarian. The invocation will be given by Essary.

Underwood joined the Baylor law faculty in 1990 and serves as The Leon Jaworski Professor of Practice and Procedure. He took a two-year leave of absence from the law faculty between 1997-98 to serve as Baylor's General Counsel. Prior to joining the faculty at Baylor, Underwood practiced civil trial law with Carrington, Coleman, Sloman & Blumenthal in Dallas. He is a summa cum laude graduate of the University of Illinois College of Law, where he graduated at the top of his class.

Later, a reception for the graduates and their guests will be hosted by the Baylor Law Alumni Association at the Sheila and Walter Umphrey Law Center.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?