Baylor Law Graduate To Be Honored by American Jewish Congress

July 20, 2006
News Photo 3624Mike Baggett

Baylor Law School graduate W. Mike Baggett of Dallas will be presented with the prestigious American Jewish Congress Torch of Conscience Award on Oct. 19, at a gala dinner in Dallas.

The Torch of Conscience Award is presented annually by the Southwest Region of the American Jewish Congress to distinguished men and women, whose qualities of moral courage, love of liberty and community service exemplify the noblest of our heritage and ideals, according to a press release from the Southwest Region, American Jewish Congress.

Baggett, who graduated cum laude from Baylor Law School in 1973 and from Texas A&M in 1968, is chairman and CEO of Winstead Sechrest & Minick, a Dallas-based law firm, with offices in the major commercial and financial markets throughout Texas and Washington, D.C. After spending two years in the Army and earning a Bronze Star in Vietnam, he began his law career as a briefing attorney for Texas Supreme Court Justice Price Daniel Sr.

A member of the board and executive committee of the State Bar of Texas, he also was president of the Dallas Bar Association, a trustee, Fellow, and chairman of the Dallas Bar Foundation, a Fellow and member of the board of the Texas Bar Foundation, a Fellow of the American Bar Association, and chair of Fellows, Center for American and International Law.

He has been active in various civic and philanthropic organizations in the Dallas area, including chairman of the Cotton Bowl Athletic Association; director and member of the executive committee of the Greater Dallas Chamber of Commerce; director of the Dallas Citizens Council; and chairman of Downtown Dallas.

Baggett served as president of the Baylor Law School Alumni Association, and his contributions to his undergraduate alma mater include service as a Texas A&M yell leader; class agent; 1987 president of the Association of Former Students; 1995 chairman of the Foundation; 1996 Outstanding Alumni - College of Business Administration and Graduate School of Business; and 1998 Distinguished Graduate of Texas A&M.

The Torch of Conscience Award dinner will be co-chaired this year by: David E. Alexander, Ernst & Young; Joel T. Allison, Baylor Health Care System; Norm Bagwell, Chase Dallas; Peter Beck, The Beck Group; David Biegler, Estrella Energy LP; Albert C. Black Jr., On Target Supplies & Logistics; Jan Hart Black, Greater Dallas Chamber of Commerce; George W. Bramblett Jr., Haynes and Boone LLP; Don Buchholz, SWS Group Inc.; Bill Carter, Carter Financial Management; Bob Chereck, Wells Fargo Bank; Ron Gafford, Austin Industries; Britt Jenkins, Tandy Brands Accessories; Nancy Cain Marcus; Charles Matthews, Exxon Mobil Corp.; Robert F. Murchison, Murchison Capital Partners; John C. Reap, Town North Bank; and Fletcher Yarbrough, Carrington, Coleman, Sloman & Blumenthal L.L.P.

Friends, fellow alumni and colleagues of Mike Baggett are invited to participate in honoring him at the dinner by becoming co-chairs, sponsors, table hosts, or placing a congratulatory message in the dinner Tribute Journal.

For more information or details, contact Susan Myers at the AJCongress Southwest Region regional office, at (214) 368-2731 or

Looking for more news from Baylor University?