Baylor Law Grads To Receive Degrees May 4

April 30, 2002

by Alan Hunt

Sixty-two graduates of the Baylor University School of Law are scheduled to receive juris doctor degrees during commencement ceremonies at 10 a.m. Saturday, May 4, in Jones Concert Hall in the Glennis McCrary Music Building.

The keynote speaker, who was selected by the graduating class to deliver the commencement address, will be David M. Guinn, who serves as The Louise L. Morrison Professor of Constitutional Law and Master Teacher. A member of the Baylor law faculty since 1966, Guinn received his undergraduate and law degrees from Baylor, and a master's of law degree from the University of Michigan.

Diplomas will be presented during the program by Law Dean Brad Toben, The Governor Bill and Vara Faye Daniel Professor of Law, assisted by Leah W. Jackson, professor of law and associate dean.

The honor of hooding the graduates will go to Gerald R. Powell, The Abner V. McCall Professor of Evidence, and William D. Underwood, The Leon Jaworski Professor of Practice and Procedure and director of the law school's Practice Court program.

The invocation will be given by Mark W. Osler, assistant professor of law.

After the ceremony, a reception for the graduates and their guests will be hosted by the Baylor Law Alumni Association at the student lounge and river terrace at the Sheila and Walter Umphrey Law Center on University Parks Drive.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?