Honors Convocation to Recognize Top Students

April 13, 2006

Baylor University will recognize its top students during the 14th annual Harry and Anna Jeanes Academic Honors Week, beginning with the Honors Convocation on Wednesday, April 19. The ceremony that recognizes outstanding Baylor students will begin at 2 p.m. in Barfield Drawing Room in the Bill Daniel Student Center.

"This endowed event is an ongoing recognition and celebration of the rigorous and exciting undergraduate experience provided for our students," said Dr. Thomas Hibbs, dean of the Honors College.

Baylor alumnus Beau Egert, director of Texas Gov. Rick Perry's Faith-Based and Community Initiative at the OneStar Foundation, will deliver the keynote address. Egert, a Phi Beta Kappa, received his bachelor's degree from Baylor and his master of public policy degree from Harvard University. Egert will be speaking on "Doctis Docendis: Teachings Worthy of Learning."

During the convocation, outstanding students from the College of Arts and Sciences, the Honors College, and the Schools of Business, Education, Engineering/Computer Science, Music, Nursing and Social Work will be recognized along with their respective department chair/program director. Phi Beta Kappa inductees also will be introduced. The ceremony will conclude with the presentation of the Cornelia Marschall Smith Outstanding Professor of the Year Award. This award is given annually to a Baylor faculty member who makes an exceptional contribution to the learning environment at Baylor through teaching, research and service.

A reception will follow the convocation.

For more information, contact the Paulette Edwards, assistant to the dean at the Honors College, at 710-7689.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?