Baylor University Recognizes Carroll and Aline Webb With Gregory Distinguished Service Award

April 11, 2006
News Photo 3421(L to R) - Dr. Randy Lofgren presents the Milton T. Gregory Distinguished Service Award to Carroll (L) and Aline (R) Webb.

Baylor University presented the 2006 Milton T. Gregory Distinguished Service Award to Carroll and Aline Groner Webb of Waco, during the April 8 meeting of the Baylor Development Council. The award is presented annually to a development volunteer whose enthusiasm for Baylor is contagious and ever present. Recipients are well known in their communities for their eagerness to influence others to do their part in supporting Baylor.

Carroll and Aline Webb moved to Waco to be closer to Baylor, enabling them to enthusiastically support a school that is near and dear to their hearts.

"Carroll and Aline Webb believe deeply in the mission of Baylor University and support the school both spiritually and financially," said Randy Lofgren, interim vice president for development. "They moved to Waco so they could attend events whenever they could, and they regularly encourage others to support Baylor as well. They embody the true meaning of the word service."

Carroll served as chairman of the Advisory Board of Hankamer School of Business and president of the Tip Off Club under former Baylor women's basketball coach Sonja Hogg. He currently is a director of the Baylor Bear Foundation, where he consistently ranks in the Top 10 fundraisers. Aline has served as chairman of the Golf Committee of the Women's Athletic Cabinet and currently serves on the Lady Bear Golf Tournament Committee. Carroll and Aline were inducted into the Athletic Director's Hall of Honor in appreciation of their support of Baylor Athletics, and they have generously supported excellence funds for men's and women's golf, softball, baseball, men's and women's basketball and soccer. They also have supported The Presidents Club, Baylor Waco Foundation and numerous scholarship funds.

But their pride and joy comes from supporting the Deloitte & Touche/Carroll L. Webb Accounting Scholarship. Carroll started the fund in 1984 with a gift of $800 and has watched it grow to a market value of more than $350,000.

The Webbs are members of Development Council, Endowed Scholarship Society, the Baylor Alumni Association and charter members of Old Main Society. They are active members of Columbus Avenue Baptist Church, where Aline's uncle, Frank Groner, was pastor from 1911-18. They have four children.

After Carroll received his bachelor's degree in business administration from Baylor in 1947, he joined the Dallas office of Haskins & Sells, now Deloitte & Touche. He retired in 1985 after spending the last 10 years as managing partner of the Dallas office. He served as chairman of the finance committee on the board of Baylor Dental College and as a member and then chairman of the Audit Committee of the Baptist General Convention of Texas.

Aline received her bachelor's degree from Baylor in 1955. She retired from teaching in 1988 after a 30-year career. Carroll and Aline met through mutual friends as members of Park Cities Baptist Church. They were married in the church by their beloved pastor and great friend, Dr. James Pleitz (former Baylor trustee).

The Milton T. Gregory Distinguished Service Award is presented annually and named in memory of the 1935 Baylor graduate and university trustee. Throughout his life, Gregory distinguished himself in the role of volunteer and partner with higher education, especially Baylor. Appreciating the value of academic education, Gregory never missed an opportunity to promote the interests of Baylor. His personal achievement, integrity and service to Baylor for more than 50 years are the characteristics for which this award is named in his memory.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?