Baylor Students Honored By Texas Intercollegiate Press Association

April 4, 2002

by Melissa Allen, Student Newswriter

The Texas Intercollegiate Press Association announced its award winners during the organization's annual conference March 28-30 in Fort Worth. Baylor University staff and students received recognition in several categories.

Staffers for Baylor's yearbook, the Round Up, were recognized with several awards. Stacey Meineke won first places for academics copy, as well as second place for cover design and opening section copy in the received yearbook category. Kathryn Holmes and Courtney McKeand both won second place for academics story package, and Roger Metcalfe received second place for sports action photo. Third place was given to Evan Wilder for feature photo color. Wilder also won third place along with Meineke for opening story package.

Honorable mention was given to Donald Meyerson for feature photo; Matt Strepka for sports copy; J.P. Hayworth, Kimberlee Barbour and McKeand for organizational story copy; Holmes and McKeand for class page/people spread; Clair Kennedy and McKeand for feature/student life package; Matt Strepka for sports story package; and the staff for picture story. The Round Up also received honorable mention for overall Division I yearbook.

Baylor students also earned awards for Focus magazine. First place awards were given to Jackie Paslay for general magazine feature photo-color and to the staff for general magazine cover design. Second place was given to the staff for general magazine story package, Meyerson for general magazine feature photo-color and to Focus for general magazine single issue.

Baylor Lariat staff members earned several awards. Jackie Paslay won first place in the newspaper news photo Division I, and the Lariat staff received second place in the newspaper editorial Division I.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?