Nose Brotherhood Celebrates 80th Anniversary

March 29, 2006

by Lori Fogleman (254) 710-6275

March 30 Parade from Ferrell Center to campus precedes President Lilley's 'induction'

One of the oldest men's social organizations at Baylor University - and one well known on campus for its hi-jinks and good-natured satire poking fun at all things Baylor - will celebrate its 80th anniversary on Thursday, March 30.

Founded in 1926, the Nose Brotherhood will commemorate this auspicious occasion as only the Nose can - with a campus parade, traditional "Pink Tea" luncheon that will feature the "induction" of Baylor President John M. Lilley into the Nose Brotherhood, and presentation of a Presidential Endowed Academic Scholarship to Baylor.

Reporters and photographers are welcome at all events. "Bro. Short Nose" - otherwise known as Dr. William B. Long, a retired physician from Bell County and former Baylor regent - will be available for interviews. In 1997, Long and his wife, Mary, published "The Nose Brotherhood Knows: A Collection of Nothings and Non-Happenings, 1926-1965," a breezy history of the organization compiled from articles from The Lariat and other newspapers, The Round Up, Pink Tea invitations, personal reminiscences and correspondence over "recent incidents involving student discipline."

The parade - complete with a Baylor DPS squad car leading fire trucks, a green and gold pickup truck and trailer with Nose Brothers in crazy hats and pajama tops, and four Yellow Cabs - will begin at 10:45 a.m. at the Ferrell Center and proceed to the Bill Daniel Student Center. The parade will simulate a practice from the 1940s, when Nose Brothers, riding a fire truck, would stop at Memorial Hall to pick up their "Fortunates" - dates to the Pink Tea - and continue on to the site of the annual luncheon.

The parade route is as follows:

• University Parks Drive to Bagby Avenue (by Baylor Sciences Building)
• Right on Speight (to Hankamer School of Business)
• Left on Fourth Street

• Right on Bagby
• Right on Eighth Street, which curves right and becomes Dutton Avenue (by Brooks Hall)
• Right on Fifth Street to the Bill Daniel Student Center.

Once at the BDSC, Nose Brothers will dedicate an endowed scholarship plaque like those that adorn the walls in the student center. However, the Nose Brothers' plaque will feature a likeness of the group's founder, "Bro. Longnose Shoaf," as well as the names and graduation years of members and honorary members.

The Pink Tea - a formal dinner that begins with dessert and ends with salad - will begin around 11:30 a.m. in Barfield Drawing Room on the second floor of the student center. The Nose Brothers have held Pink Teas annually since May 17, 1929. During the luncheon, President Lilley will be ceremonially "inducted" into the Nose Brotherhood as "Bro. Easter Nose."

Other honorary - or "ornery" members as they're known - include comedian Bob Hope ("Bro. Ski Nose"), the Rev. Billy Graham ("Bro. Cracker Nose"), former astronaut and senator John Glenn ("Bro. GemiNoZe") and comedian Bill Cosby (Bro. J-E-L-L-NoZe").

See related stories in the May/June 2003 issue of Baylor Magazine.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?