Baylor Sets Date For Presidential Inauguration

Jan. 30, 2006

Media Contact: Lori Fogleman (254) 710-6275

Baylor University Board of Regents Chairman Will Davis of Austin has appointed David Sibley to chair an eight-member Presidential Inauguration Committee to oversee plans for the April installation of Dr. John M. Lilley as the university's 13th president.

All eight members of the committee are Waco-area regents. Others serving on the committee are Wes Bailey, James Bowden, Tommy Bowman, Harold Cunningham, Sue Getterman, Ramiro Pena and Donell Teaff.

Inaugural activities will take place on Thursday and Friday, April 20-21, with the installation ceremony scheduled for 2 p.m. Friday in the Ferrell Special Events Center. A community-wide reception will follow in the Burleson Quadrangle. The ceremony and reception will be open to the public.

Other inaugural activities will include a Board of Regents dinner and a concert featuring the Baylor School of Music on Thursday evening and a Friday luncheon for inauguration participants. Details on the concert, which will be open to the public, will be released closer to the event.

The Board of Regents unanimously elected Dr. Lilley as Baylor's 13th president on Nov. 4, 2005. He took office on Jan. 1, returning to his alma mater from the University of Nevada, Reno, where he had served as president since July 2001. Dr. Lilley previously served as head of Penn State Erie, a four-year and graduate campus of The Pennsylvania State University. He also has served as a faculty member and academic administrator at Kansas State University and the Claremont Colleges in California.

Dr. Lilley earned two bachelor's degrees and a master's degree in music at Baylor before receiving his doctorate in music from the University of Southern California. He and his wife, Geraldine (Gerrie), have four grown children and three grandchildren. Dr. and Mrs. Lilley are members of First Baptist Church, Waco.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?