Herbert H. Reynolds Awards To Be Presented Oct. 27

Oct. 25, 2001

by Nicole L. Anderson, Student Newswriter

The Herbert H. Reynolds Awards will be presented immediately prior to Baylor University's Homecoming football game on Saturday, Oct. 27, at Floyd Casey Stadium.

Dr. Gary Bock, a 1981 Baylor graduate and founder of the award, and Dr. Herbert H. Reynolds, Baylor's president emeritus for whom the award is named, will present the award to J.D. Hudson Jr., Jane Dudgeon, Dr. W. Winfred Moore and Dr. Sue Margaret Hughes. The award honors distinguished individuals who have added to the heritage and tradition of Baylor through service and dedication to the university and its students.

Hudson, a 1958 Baylor graduate and former Baylor trustee, is a former chairman of the board for Community Bank and Trust in Waco. Hudson has been an active member of the Waco community, serving as president of the YMCA, president and director of Ridgewood Country Club, director of the Baylor-Waco Foundation, director of the Baylor Stadium Corp., and director of the Waco Chamber of Commerce and Texas Bankers Association. Hudson also served on the executive board of the Baptist General Convention of Texas from 1977-1979, and is a deacon at First Baptist Church of Waco.

Dudgeon is a Baylor graduate active in the Waco community as a volunteer for organizations, such as the Junior League of Waco and the Waco Cotton Palace Pageant. In 1999, Dudgeon and her late husband, Dr. Howard Dudgeon Jr., presented Baylor with a $1 million gift to create the Howard and Jane Dudgeon Museum Studies Interpretive Classroom and Learning Center in the Harry and Anna Jeanes Discovery Center, the centerpiece of the Mayborn Museum Complex. The Dudgeon's gift also funded the Jane and Howard Dudgeon Excellence Fund for the Armstrong Browning Library, which helped establish the fully-annotated Browning research database that officially went online Oct. 13 during the library's golden jubilee.

Moore, a regent emeritus, serves as director of Baylor's Center for Ministry Effectiveness, as well as the W. Winfred and Elizabeth Moore Visiting Distinguished Professor in Ministry Guidance program. He received his education at Lambeth College, Union University and George Peabody College, and holds an honorary doctor of divinity degree from Wayland Baptist University, as well as an honorary doctor of laws degree from Baylor. For 30 years, he served as pastor of First Baptist Church, Amarillo, and is a former president and executive committee member of the Baptist General Convention of Texas and first vice president of the Southern Baptist Convention. He is a Rotarian and was selected as Amarillo's "Man of the Year" in 1978 and 1989.

Hughes, a Waco resident, earned her undergraduate degree at the University of Texas at Austin, and then pursued her master of library science and doctoral degrees from Texas Woman's University. She came to Baylor in 1960 as the assistant in public services of Carroll Library. She served as University Librarian from 1989-91. Hughes also is past president of the Waco branch of the American Association for University Women.

For more information, contact Dr. Martha Lou Scott at 710-1761.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?