Baylor's Nursing School Dedicates Facilities, Renovated Building

Sept. 25, 2000

by LoAna Lopez

DALLAS -- Using scalpels for the "ribbon-slicing" ceremony, Baylor University's Louise Herrington School of Nursing celebrated its recent completion of a $5 million facility expansion and renovation of the Harry W. Bass Academic Center during a dedication ceremony today at its Dallas campus.

The dedication, which also included the unveiling of a donor wall, took place in the school's Dale and Anita Jones Foyer.

Among those participating in the ceremony were Baylor President Robert B. Sloan Jr.; Dr. Donald D. Schmeltekopf, provost and vice president for academic affairs; Dr. Phyllis Karns, dean of the School of Nursing; Boone Powell Jr., chairman of the Baylor Health Care System; and Joel Allison, president and CEO of the Baylor Health Care System. Tim Parris, current president of the Baylor University Medical Center, presided over the ceremony.

Before an audience of nearly 100 people, they each expressed their gratitude for the continuing partnership between the Baylor Health Care System and Baylor University.

"It is our ability to work and serve together that makes days like this possible," Sloan said. "These two entities have remained sensitive to their calling for quality nursing care."

"The new facility and renovation means better classrooms, better teaching and better study and socializing opportunities for students," said Karns. "We continue to be blessed through our very strong ties with Baylor Medical Center, and for that we are thankful."

"This enhancement of the School of Nursing is a real help in the preparation of critically needed people," said Powell. "We have to compete now with other disciplines and we have to have some of the best facilities to go along with great teaching."

Nina Ruth Raber, a 1948 nursing school graduate, also attended today's dedication ceremony. A 20-year U.S. Air Force veteran, Raber flew C-141's from 1967-1969, helping fly wounded servicemen and women out of Vietnam.

"I've always been favorably impressed with Baylor," Raber said. "I'm very happy that I graduated and received a wonderful education from the university."

Major donors to the building campaign were the Pauline Allen Gill Foundation, Dale and Anita Jones, the Theodore and Beulah Beasley Foundation, the Crowley-Carter Foundation, the Tom A. Harris Fund Communities Foundation of Texas and the Richard D. Bass Foundation.

Also, Don and Sue Barnes Wills, the Baylor University Medical Center Women's Auxiliary, the Baylor University Medical Center Board of Trustees 1999, the Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing faculty, John R. and Carmen Cordero McCaw, Imogene Boldin, Ellamargaret Hood Orren, friends of Gladys Burris, Fred and Gloria Roach, and Mr. and Mrs. William "Bill" Johnston.

Other major donors to the nursing school building campaign were the Eugene Straus Charitable Fund, family and friends of Ruth Powell, Luella Abrahamson Hinkle, Anna Belle Briggs Johnson, Nina Ruth Raber, Bill and Evelyn Aston, Stephen D. and Judy A. Blum, Don and Ruth Buchholz, Bob and Ellen Byrd, Steve and Debbie Chisolm, the class of 1945 in memory of Dean Zora M. Fiedler, RN, and Olga M. Breihan, RN, Sigma Theta Tau, Eta Gamma Chapter, Tyler and Gerry Cadenhead Fletcher, Dr. Linda F. Garner and Dr. Johanna T. Guenther.

Also, Linda and Christopher Haynes, Dr. Pauline T. Johnson, the Philip R. Jonsson Foundation, Phyllis Spears Karns, Major Herbert James Laing, Bob and Sylvia Lemley, Ashlyn and Jeff Lewis, Jennifer Luckey, Mr. and Mrs. Edgar Ludgar, Dr. Alice Pappas, Dr. and Mrs. Gene Pitman, Martha Bledsoe Sanford, Joyce Michele Sibley Riddle, Carey Ann Smith, Lisa Lambert Springer, Opal Doss Ward, Martha McKee West, Leslie Sands Williams and Betty and William Wise.

The nursing school, located just east of downtown Dallas on the Baylor University Medical Center campus, is one of nine schools and colleges operated by Waco-based Baylor University.

The Baylor School of Nursing was established in 1909 as a diploma program within Baylor Hospital in Dallas, which is now Baylor University Medical Center, and in 1950 became one of the six degree-granting schools of Baylor University. The first bachelor of science in nursing degrees were awarded in 1954, establishing the school as one of the oldest baccalaureate nursing programs in the United States.

In November 1999, the school was renamed the Louise Herrington School of Nursing after Louise Herrington Ornelas, co-founder of TCA Cable Inc. of Tyler and a 1992 Baylor University Alumna Honoris Causa, made a $13 million endowment gift to the school. It was the third-largest gift from an individual in Baylor's 155-year history.

Accredited by the National League for Nursing and by the Board of Nurse Examiners for the State of Texas, the School of Nursing offers a bachelor of science in nursing degree and a master of science in nursing degree in both patient care management and family nurse practitioner programs. Nearly 100 percent of Baylor School of Nursing graduates who seek employment upon graduation find a position within one month and most are employed upon graduation.

For more information about the dedication or donors, contact the Baylor University Development North Texas office at (214) 953-0190.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?