Retirees Honored at May Commencement

May 31, 1999

by Lori Scott Fogleman

While conferring degrees on more than 1,400 graduates during spring commencement on May 15, Baylor University also paid tribute to seven outstanding faculty members and to those faculty and administrators who are retiring after long and distinguished careers with the university.

The 1999 Baylor Outstanding Faculty are: Dr. Nancy Chinn, associate professor of English, representing the College of Arts and Sciences; Dr. Robert T. Doty, professor of engineering, from the School of Computer Science and Engineering; Dr. Christine S. Getz, assistant professor of music history and literature, from the School of Music; Dr. W. Gary Hardie, professor of cello and coordinator of strings, also from the School of Music; Kathy Hillman, associate professor and acquisitions and collection development librarian, representing University Libraries; Bonnie S. Luft, lecturer in health, human performance and recreation, from the School of Education; and Dr. William R. Reichenstein, professor of finance and The Pat and Thomas R. Powers Professor of Investment Management, representing the Hankamer School of Business.

Faculty members retiring from Baylor in 1998-99 are: Dr. James Barganier, retiring founding dean of the School of Computer Science and Engineering and emeritus professor of engineering, who served Baylor from 1979-1999; Patricia Cook, emeritus professor of theater arts, who taught at the university from 1963-1999; Robert J. Denton, emeritus professor of health, human performance and recreation, who taught from 1961-1999; Dr. Maxine B. Hart, emeritus professor of information systems, who served Baylor from 1971-1999; Dr. E. Russell Lester, emeritus professor of religion, who served the university from 1959-1999; Dr. Ray F. Luper, emeritus associate professor of music literature and church music, who taught at Baylor from 1974-1999; E.E. Schroeder, emeritus associate professor of health, human performance and recreation, who taught from 1958-1999; Dr. Ross D. Staton, professor of social work and sociology from 1977-1999; Dr. Rodney O+Connor, professor of environmental studies from 1996-1999; Glenn VanZandt, lecturer in curriculum and instruction from 1992-1999; and Dr. James E. Wood Jr., emeritus distinguished professor of church-state studies, who served the university from 1955-1973 and again from 1980-1999.

Administrators retiring from Baylor in 1998-1999 are: Dr. Milton Cunningham, university chaplain and director of denominational ministries, who served the university from 1989-1999, and Robert O. Feather, emeritus vice-president of university development, who served Baylor from 1980-1999.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?