Baylor Business School Presents Annual Awards

March 30, 2000

by Alan Hunt

Baylor University's Hankamer School of Business recognized successful students, faculty and staff at the school's annual awards banquet held Monday, March 27.

Dr. Reagan Ramsower, professor of information systems and associate dean for technology, received the Most Popular Business Professor honor. The award is presented by Alpha Kappa Psi business fraternity following a vote by the student body. Ramsower has been a member of the Baylor faculty since 1976.

Other faculty members honored during the awards program included Dr. John Seaman Jr., professor of quantitative business analysis and holder of the Randall W. and Sandra Ferguson Professorship in Information Systems, who received the Hankamer Distinguished Professor Award; Dr. Steven Rich, associate professor of finance, and Mrs. Betsy Willis, lecturer in accounting, who shared the Teaching Excellence Award; and Dr. Beck Taylor, assistant professor of economics, who received the Hankamer Young Researcher Award.

The Outstanding Staff Award was presented to Mrs. Mary Schrader, a software support specialist at the Casey Computer Center.

Keynote speaker at the banquet was Lyndon L. Olson Jr., U.S. Ambassador to Sweden. A native Wacoan and a 1969 Baylor graduate, Olson told the students, "Today, I am simply asking that you lead us to more than the next quarterly profit statement." He pointed out, "The future really does need you in your community and at home and in the community around the world."

Looking for more news from Baylor University?